Off to Mayo we go

Today, November 11th is the day that we head off to the Mayo Clinic.  I feel like a man sailing off into the vast ocean in a sturdy vessel but with no navigational equipment.

We have no idea how this thing is going to go.Karla, my youngest son Jared (age 3), and I plan to drive up to Rochester tonight for an appointment that begins Wednesday morning at 7:30.   Some very kind Christian folks near Spring Valley, south of Rochester, whom we have never met are allowing us to stay in their home free of charge for as long as we need a place to stay.  He himself is a physician in a practice with a friend of mine from college many years ago.  That’s how this providential connection was made.  What a relief it is to have this major detail checked off the list!

Tests begin in earnest tomorrow morning.  I have been told by some to expect a repeat of most of the tests I had been subjected to while in the hospital in Des Moines.  I’m not expecting the tests to be as interesting or novel this time around.  The Mayo folks have told us to plan on being up there from 3-9 days and to be prepared even for surgery if that is what is determined to be the best course of action.  I’ll write more later about the possible treatments, risks, etc, when I have more information about my particular case.

I’m not in a state of panic, nor am I experiencing a sense of dread, nor do I have any anger or malice of any kind toward God.  For years I have preached on the sovereignty and supremacy of God over all things.  Now is the time for me to put it into practice.

It is comforting to know that I will be in the hands of perhaps the most skillful human beings on earth with regard to AVM’s but I know that all the days ordained for me were ordained before even one of them came to be (Psalm 139).  Not only the number of days, but how each of those days would be.  Why now, after 16,000 plus days of life do I find out about something that has been there my whole life? How would I know?  God is His own interpreter and He will make it plain.

4 thoughts on “Off to Mayo we go”

  1. Pastor Mike,

    You and your family are in my prayers!! I pray for safe travel for you to Mayo. That the calming peace of God is with your family during this stressful time. Finally I pray that God, who is the Great Physican Himself, will guide these doctors as they determine the best course of action.

    One of my favorite verses is from Isa 43:1-3. I have found it to be a comfort many times. It reminds me that I am His and that He is sovereign…ah how comforting that is.

    Fear not for I have redeemed you
    I have called you by your name
    You are mine!

    When you pass through the waters
    I will be with you!!
    And through the river, they shall NOT overflow you
    When you walk through the fire you shall not be burned
    Nor shall the flame scorch you

    For I am the Lord your God
    The Holy One of Israel
    Your Savior

    Like

  2. Dear Mike and Karla,

    I feel such tension as you begin your adventure tomorrow morning, such a need to beg and beseech God to do our will and not His. We will be praying earnestly for every moment of your day to be supervised and tended by the Holy Spirit, that his everlasting and everloving mercy will be permeating your heart and soul. That every person who is involved with your case will treat you both with respect and compassion and use the utmost skill and competence in whatever work they do. God is in charge over all this and we will do our part in prayer to cover you and your family with His care.

    God bless you and keep you,

    Paula

    Like

  3. You rock for not letting them make you put on one of those ridiculous hospital gowns Uncle Mike! We’ll be praying for you and the family! Let us know if you guys need anything at all!
    ~Jen

    Like

  4. Pastor Mike & family, what a wonderful job you have done in sharing your physical and spiritual experience at this time with this blog. Just wanted you to know that the Dr.Belsheim Bunch is checking in on you and also concerned with all that you are going through. You have our prayers and support. Thank you for making yourself available through this web site. God Bless you much

    Like

Leave a Reply

