Some Good News and Bad News

We spent most of this day meeting with doctors…neurologists and neurosurgeons.  The good news is that the AVM in my brain is not the largest one they have seen.  The bad news is that it is still big, still a problem, and statistically speaking still has a better than 60% possibility of bleeding at some point in my life…which would be bad.

The lifetime risk of a hemorrhage is 105 minus ones current age.  Because of my relatively young age, as my two favorite grocers always remind me when they address me as “young pastor Evans” they want to treat me.

In the morning we talked with a neurologist, Dr. Petty, a Fellow Dr. Dupon and talked through the details of my case.  Lots of big words.  Maybe I can use them in Boggle and actually beat Luke with some seven point words!  In the afternoon we met with the head of the neurosurgery department, Dr. Meyer and several others that were following him around.  We saw this thing in my brain from every possible angle, and from every angle it was still there.

3 thoughts on “Some Good News and Bad News”

  1. I’m not a “blogger,” and unsure exactly how all this works, but just wanted to reassure you of our prayers, and am glad for the opportunity to stay informed.
    I read your comment about the young Pastor Evans. From my experience last week, the distance between “the young pastor” and the oldest person in the room is about six years!
    Tim

    Like

  2. We will be praying tonight for you and your family. I lead a small group each Wed. eve. and we spend considerable time in prayer. I have shared your health situation with this group last week. God bless, our prayers and thoughts are with you. Bob

    Like

  3. Dear Pastor Mike:
    Just want you to know that I am thinking about you daily and care very much about your well-being. I have appreciated all you have done for me over the past two years but never thought the tables would be turned~especially at your young age. John and I love and respect you and your family very much and we hope and pray that everything turns out for the best for all involved.

    God bless all of you, Love, Janet

    Like

Leave a Reply

