Happy Sewer Update

On my last posting I mentioned the sewer problem we were having late Friday evening; namely that all of the liquids that were leaving our home were backing up into the pipes and squirting through the foundation walls back into the basement. 

We all know the old adage “when it rains it pours” but when it’s sewer water that’s pouring it takes it to an entirely different level.  Surveying the situation I deduced that one of two things was occurring: 1. There was a blockage in the sewer line between the house and the street (minor problem), or 2. The sewer line had collapsed (major problem).  As Karla and I went to bed Friday evening I was convinced that scenario number 2 was in play.  Nevertheless, as is our daily practice Karla and I prayed together before bed that evening and, among other things, asked God to deliver us from this apparently big (and expensive) problem. 

I happily inform you that I was wrong in my assessment.  At 10:00 a.m. Saturday morning I began the process of trying to figure out what to do with this mess.  I began by calling Randy, our local plumber.  From there we got hooked up with an outfit that could snake the line out.  After breaking through the ancient cast iron they were able to snake the line and unclog it with no sign of any collapse.  I rejoiced.  Seriously I did!  By 12:30 that part of the operation was done.  Within two hours Randy had the complex system put back together so that the way was once again clear for all the stuff that goes through sewer lines to leave our house with a one way ticket to the ponds north of town.

By 3:00 p.m. the whole mess was cleaned up and I stood in near disbelief at my glorious sewer line in full working order.  I also marveled at the efficiency of the whole process!  All the necessary people went out of their way to make my day and get this mess taken care of as quickly as possible.  Believe it or not our family of seven did not even need to evacuate the house…except for the girls whom Karla took up to our local In Training fitness center for a bathroom stop (don’t get mad Michelle!). 

Given the looks of things on Friday evening I would have said there was about a 1% probability of having this problem taken care of by the end of the next day.  But there it was….done!  This, my friends, was a direct answer to our (ours and yours) prayers and I needed to share it with you all. 

I suppose the lesson to be learned here is something like this: When sewage is pouring through the walls of your foundation don’t be too sure that you really know what’s going on.  Pray.  Make the calls.  Trust the experts…. and thank the Lord for good plumbers!

Leave a Reply

