Another Word From Karla

Mike asked me to post again, so here I am.  So how am I doing?  “Fine” is my usual answer.  Those who know me well know that fine is not so great.  But, I don’t really know what else to say.  Is Mike fine?  Yes, other than the blood blob in his head.  How fine is that?  Are the kids fine?  Yes, unless they think too much about the second week of February.  Am I fine?  Yes, until some silly thing, like needing dental work done, sets me off. 

So here we sit, waiting for surgery in February, trying to keep Christmas and my sister’s wedding happy, all the while wondering if we’ve really made the right decision or not.  That sentence typifies what my thoughts are like.  They are rambling and seemingly disconnected.  But I always end up in the same place.  We have fervently sought God in this decision.  We have repeatedly asked for His mercy to our entire family during this time. 

One of the ways He has shown His mercy toward us is through His word.  Mike just finished a sermon series on discerning God’s will in the amoral decisions of life.  Interesting timing, isn’t it!  Yesterday I read a sermon given by a former pastor of ours many years ago on the same topic.  I was amazed at how many of the points were the same.  The text for that sermon was Psalm 25. 

Let me just list some of the verses that encouraged my soul:  1-2:  “To you, O Lord, I lift up my soul.  O my God, in you I trust;”  4:  “Make me to know your ways, O Lord; teach me your paths.”  6:  “Remember your mercy, O Lord, and your steadfast love, for they have been from of old.”  14-18:  “The friendship of the Lord is for those who fear him, and he makes known to them his covenant.  My eyes are ever toward the Lord, for he will pluck my feet out of the net.  Turn to me, and be gracious to me, for I am lonely and afflicted.  The troubles of my heart are enlarged;  bring me out of my distresses.  Consider my affliction and my trouble and forgive all  my sins.”  The psalmist’s thoughts are much like mine, ramblings. 

He shares his heart, says he trusts in God, yet needs forgiveness from sin and and needs to be made by God to know His ways.  That’s what we’ve done.  We’ve sought God and trusted that the path we head down is the path He wants us to travel.  That’s the only way I know to make a decision.  That’s the only way I can live with whatever the outcome is.  That’s the only way I can teach our children about the ways of God.  God has called me and saved me and He will sustain me through this trial.  So when I look at it that way, I couldn’t be any better!

8 thoughts on “Another Word From Karla”

  1. There was a speaker this year at the NICHE conference who said of riding a roller coaster with your spouse, “Strap yourself in, throw up your hands, and start screaming!” Oh the comfort of His Word…and the certainty of His faithfulness!

    Thank you for being transparent, Karla.

    Deborah

    Like

  2. The good lord has obviously blessed you with wisdom well beyond your years and a heart purer than gold itself. Do not worry about your sister’s wedding. It is wasted energy on your part. Those who know and love you will understand and are far more concerned with your situation than with theirs, this I know first hand.
    Christmas is a time of celebration of a blessed event that again will take care of itself just within it’s own meanings. Continue to be strong for your family and for Mike. Your love and strength will bring him through this peacefully and your lives will continue to be blessed in unimaginable ways.
    I’ll end here. I tend to ramble as well.

    Bless you Karla and all your family,

    Brad

    Like

  3. Rest in the fact that you made the right choice for surgery. Trust in the fact that the Lord is in control and nothing is impossible for Him. Enjoy each day with Mike and your family, that includes Christmas and the wedding!

    God is faithful – always.

    Mary Ellen

    Like

  4. My Dear Friend Karla,
    Thank you for your sharing. In a book called Trusting God Even When Life Hurts, he writes “our suffering is under the control of an all-powerful and all-loving God; our suffering has meaning and purpose in God’s eternal plan, and He brings or allows to come into our lives only that which is for His glory and our good.” I can’t even begin to imagine the many thoughts and feelings you have daily in your heart, but I know that you and Mike have already touched many peoples’ hearts and have truely shown your faith and trust in God during this difficult time. One of my favorite hymns is Because He Lives “Because He lives, I can face tomorrow, Because He lives, all fear is gone; Because I know He holds the future. And Life is worth the living, Just because He lives! God bless you. Have a sweet, sweet Christmas with your family. I love you and am keeping you all in my prayers. Kathy

    Like

  5. There is comfort, too, in knowing that God is in everything, that any decision you made would be used by him for good. I don’t believe you can choose “wrong” when you submit yourselves completely to his leading, as you have done. God will work his ultimate will, regardless of our puny efforts to control things. Now that you have chosen, I pray you will rest in the comfort that he will take it from here. Know you are being fiercely prayed for. May your joy be complete this Christmas season, and always.

    Like

  6. You and your family are being lifted up in prayer, Karla. Thanks for your comments on this blog, too – makes us knoww more of what you’re going through and how to pray. We love you! See you in a couple weeks.

    Like

  7. Karla,

    Thank you, dear friend, for sharing honestly. One of the things I love about you is your realness. One of my all-time favorite quotes is from a Medieval French abbot, Bernhard of Clairvaux. I hope it doesn’t sound trite but I share because of the great encouragement God has given me in it.

    Where you may go,
    remember this.

    HE is already there!
    HE has carried you,
    formed you, led you
    and freed you.

    He is already there.
    If He leads you in
    unimaginable, new paths,
    He is already there.
    GO –

    HE will not abandon you.
    the Lord will go with you!

    (Me talking now) So trust that He is already there ahead of you working and waiting. He is already in the operating room. He is already at your sister’s wedding and in the planning of it. He is already there in next semester’s homeschooling (or lack thereof). Rest in the knowledge of His presence and sovereignty. It might not look like you/we thought it would but God is not caught unawares. Hang in there dear friend!!

    Sending lots of hugs and love, Adele

    Like

  8. Karla,

    Laurie and I pray for you, Mike and your family daily. The strength and commitment I see in yours and Mike’s writing is nothing less than inspiring. I am also not surprised that the Psalmist is a friend to you right now. I am thinking of Psalm 34–my favorite Psalm, and vs. 7 which says “the angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear Him and He delivers them.” I’m praying that you feel their wings this Christmas!

    God be with you!

    Brent Ward

    Like

Leave a Reply

