People are Nice, Another Comment from Karla

Mike has been asking me to write again for a couple of weeks.  I’ve been putting it off because I really don’t have anything new to say.  But today I was thinking about what else I could say besides, “This is tough,” and I came up with, “People are nice…”

I am continually amazed at how many people say kind things and offer to do things for us.  It has been 2 1/2 months since Mike had the seizure and we started on this journey.  I really expected people to quit being this helpful and concerned.  That really is the normal progression of things.

During difficult circumstances, a lot of people are concerned for awhile, but then life goes back to normal for them while the ones in the midst of the trial are left to take care of themselves.  That has not been my experience.  Here are some examples of people continuing to be kind.

I am on an e-mail loop with people from all over the country, most of whom I have never met.  Many have sent encouraging e-mails.  Some have even sent cards.  I’ve never sent a card to someone I don’t know in order to encourage them!  One person shared a crisis her family is going through, and said it is not as difficult as mine.  I wrote back and said that I think whatever your own personal crisis is at the time is the most difficult one for you.  I certainly do not have the corner on hard circumstances.

We live in a small town.  I have always considered myself a city girl, but over the past few years have grown to appreciate our small town.  Almost everyone in town knows something of what our family is going through.  People have brought food, offered to drive, offered to babysit, even offered to clean.

I couldn’t possibly take everyone up on what they have offered.   One woman I have gotten to know as a result of having our sons play sports together for the past nine years always makes a point of sincerely asking how I am doing.

Another family let Benj stay with them during our last trip to Mayo and will do the same on the next trip.  The band director has shown great concern for our sons and entire family.  The ladies I exercise with have been incredibly encouraging.  Our neighbor has had the kids over and sent several high calorie treats to comfort me.  All right here in our little community of 1300 people!

Then there is our church.   People continue to make sure that we know they are available for whatever we need.  We have a large number of people who drive quite far to come to church, but are still willing to help us if we need it.  A couple of the families that are in town have watched the younger kids so that I am able to drive Mike to places he needs to be.

One couple spends much of the winter in Texas, and they made meals for us before they left to have in the freezer.  We have always felt loved by the people of our church, but I think this particular crisis has caused people to be more verbal and intentional in letting us know that they care about us.  What a blessing that is!

My family, of course, is very helpful.  I think my dad would drive about any distance for his family.  My parents will be keeping the girls and bringing the four oldest kids up to Rochester the weekend following the surgery.  (We’ll have Jared with us.)  Before my sister got married and moved to Kansas, she took care of the kids regularly, even as she was preparing for her wedding.  I could go on, but I need to get to bed.

And while I do think that these people are nice, I really see them all as being a means of God’s grace.  At every turn I see Him caring for us, even when I don’t expect it.  I must really need reminders that He has not and will not abandon us, because I see kindness all around.  Goodnight!

One thought on “People are Nice, Another Comment from Karla”

  1. KARLA,
    YOU WILL CONTINUE TO BE AMAZED AT HOW REAL GOD IS AT THIS TIME…..
    HE IS THE ONE THAT IS CLOSER THAN A BRO….AND HE WILL CONTINUE TO CARRY YOU!!!
    I MET YOU THIS SUMMER AT OUR 25 YR REUNION.
    IT WAS SO COOL TO SEE WHAT GOD HAS DONE IN MIKE AND YOUR FAMILY’S LIFE….
    I COULDN’T HELP REMEMBERING HOW MIKE USED TO ALWAYS TELL ME HOW HAPPY AND BUBBLY I WAS IN H S. AT THE TIME I’M SURE HE WAS NOT EVEN AWARE OF MY FAITH NOR I OF HIS…. AS WE ONLY CROSSED PATHS…..
    I REMEMBER THINKING DOES HE REALLY SEE A DIFFERENCE IN MY LIFE?
    IT WAS A TESTIMENT TO MYSELF, BECAUSE I WAS GOING THRU VERY DIFFICULT CIRCUMSTANCES AT HOME, THAT I AM SURE HE WAS NOT AWARE OF…. BUT SOMEHOW I SEEMED TO ALWAYS FIND MY PEGGY SMILE TO WEAR….

    AS YOU AND I BOTH KNOW THAT WAS GOD AT WORK IN MY LIFE EVEN WHEN I WASN’T EVEN REALIZING IT…. I REMEMBER JUST A SIMPLE COMMENT MADE BY SOMEONE THAT BARELY KNEW ME SAW JOY. AND IT WASN’T REALIZED….. WAY BACK THEN, BEFORE I COULD REALLY UNDERSTAND HOW GOD REALLY WORKS .. HE WAS AT WORK IN MY LIFE PREPARING ME FOR MY FUTURE AND HOW HE WOULD ALWAYS MEET MY NEED…… AS SIMPLE AS THAT WAS, GOD WAS USING MIKE IN THAT INSTANCE TO BE REAL TO ME WHERE I WAS AT….
    I CAN LOOK BACK AND SEE NOW HOW GOD ALWAYS PUT MANY, IN MY PATH TO SHOW ME THE LOVE OF MY HEAVENLY FATHER…..

    LIFE IS MERELY HIS BUILDING BLOCKS FOR US TO DISCOVER THE JOURNEY HE WILL LEAD US ON AS CIRCUMSTANCES HAPPEN.,,, GOOD OR BAD…
    SOME OF OUR CHOOSING SOME BECAUSE WE LIVE IN A FALLEN WORLD……
    YOU ARE SO HUMBLY ACCEPTING YOUR CIRCUMSTANCES…. FEEL WHAT YOU NEED TO FEEL AND WHEN YOU CAN NOT FIND WORDS TO DO SO…… SOMETIMES JUST WHISPERING THE NAME OF JESUS….WILL BRING PEACE….. WHEN YOU ARE WORN……HE KNOWS YOUR EVERY NEED… ALLOW HIM TO MEET THEM THROUGH WHATEVER WAY HE CHOSES FOR YOU…..
    HE IS PLACING EVERYONE THERE FOR YOU WHEN YOU NEED IT…..
    I HAD TO LEARN THROUGH MY OWN CIRCUMSTANCES THAT GOD WAS USUNG ALL THESE PEOPLE….. TO BE JESUS TO ME….. AND WHEN I WAS WEARY TO ALLOW THEM THERE BLESSING ME……
    THAT IS VERY HARD WHEN YOU ARE A SELF SUFFICIENT PERSON, TO LET GO OF CONTROL, YOURS, AND LAY IT AT HIS FEET…..
    THINK OF HOW YOU FEEL WHEN YOU ARE ABLE TO GIVE…… HOW GOOD YOU FEEL ON THE INSIDE….. THAT IS HOW EACH ONE FEELS EACH TIME YOU ALLOW THEM TO MEET YOUR NEEDS….. GOD LOVES YOU SO MUCH… HE KNOWS WHAT YOU NEED BEFORE YOU DO………CONTINUE TO BE IN AWE OF HIS HANDIWORK THRU OTHERS….
    YOU WILL LOOK BACK AND BE AMAZED AT HOW HE CARRIED YOU EVEN WHEN YOU DIDN’T TOTALLY REALIZE IT…
    BASK IN THE SUNSHINE AND MERCY OF HIS LOVE FOR KARLA, NOT JUST THE EVANS’ FAMILY, MOM,WIFE,CARETAKER, BUT FOR KARLA’S NEEDS…..HE IS AND REALLY WILL BE YOUR ALL IN ALL…..
    BLESS YOU TODAY…….
    MUCH PRAYER TO SUSTAIN YOU
    IN HIS PRECIOUS NAME…..JESUS…
    PEG MILLER (NEWTON)

    Like

Leave a Reply

