An Uncommon Commonality with a Goldfish

I never imagined that I would have anything in common with a goldfish.  Alas, that may no longer be the case.  My boys tell me that a goldfish has a short term memory of roughly seven seconds.   How this alleged information was gathered I do not know.  Since my seizure back in October my short term memory does not seem to be what it was, and that is a bummer. 

Hopefully it will come back one day in all of its glorious mediocrity.   Don’t misunderstand.  So long as I write things down immediately upon thinking about them I’m fine.  In addition, I can still articulate my thoughts just as poorly as I could before the seizure.   But, it does not make me happy that I cannot remember things short term like I used to.  Since my mom has had Alzheimer’s (early onset) since about 1992 it’s even less funny.  Again, yet another reminder that we are just pilgrims passing through on a journey. 

That’s why I desperately want my life to count for more than just temporal things.   Though the Bible is still the single best selling book in history most people honestly don’t have much knowledge of its contents.  You see, most folks just  don’t think much about the journey until they are forced to think about it. 

Even then, unless we seek God’s wisdom first, in His Word, the Bible, we are taking our directions from unreliable sources.  One way of summarizing the Bible story is this:  It begins in a Garden and ends in a City and all the way through points to Jesus Christ. 

Revelation 21:2-4 shares the vision that the Apostle John received of this heavenly city “And I saw the holy city, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband.  And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, ‘Behold the dwelling place of God is with man.  He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God.  He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning nor crying nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

This is no allegory, metaphor, fable, parable, myth, or folk tale.  This is what will one day be.  I don’t consider myself much of a big-city boy, but this is one city that sounds great to me.   Every single one of us is a pilgrim.  The only question that remains is “where am I headed and when will I get there?”  In Psalm 31:15 King David writes,  “My times are in your hand…”   And so they are…even were I to turn orange and grow tiny gills.

One thought on “An Uncommon Commonality with a Goldfish”

  1. It’s funny,not, but I have been thinking of your mom and how you are slowly growing to that time when you will know if that (ALZ) is your burden to bear.For the last two years, every time it crosses my mind I ask the Lord to grant you mercy and grace so that is not your burden or future nor the future of any of your children.
    My own Dad is about mid way thru his journey with ALZ but he is nearly 80 years old and he is so much older than my grandmother, his mom, was when she died from complications related to it. I remind God constantly that I do not want to inherit that gene…I have an array of all of the bad genes of most of the generations but I don’t want ALZ! God alone know His plans and I will face what I will face so I have also been praying that if I do have ALZ I will only have words of grace pour from my lips along with the name of Jesus! On the journey, Donna Haxton

    Like

Leave a Reply

