This is what I prayed

Someone asked me to post the content of my prayer Wednesday morning before the State House of Representatives…I think so that they might compare it with the recent inaugural prayers.  Keep in mind that I was told it was to be short and mindful of the fact that people from many different faith traditions would be represented there.  Oh yes, and I was also instructed to avoid political issues. 

“Our Father in Heaven, Almighty God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, I come to You this day to ask Your blessing upon the men and women who make up this esteemed assembly.

 

Lord of the nations, we come from all walks of life and experiences yet we are all the same in that each one of us, and all human life, has been fearfully and wonderfully made in Your own image.  Each and every one of us also lives every moment under Your omniscient gaze.  There is nothing that escapes Your  fullest attention. 

 

Father, remind us each and every day that the power and authority that resides in these chambers is one that is derived from You, who alone lives in unapproachable light.  May You cause these servants to live in the light of this truth and to legislate accordingly.

 

 Cause them to trust in You with all of their heart and lean not on their own understanding, but in all their ways, acknowledging You, may You be faithful to make their paths straight.

 

I also pray for the marriages and families and the multitudes of relationships represented here today.  Surely there are those here today with heavy hearts for all sorts of reasons.  May You comfort them with Your resplendent love.

 

And now, as King David prayed (1 Chronicles 29:10-12) so too I pray today in this assembly “Blessed are you, O LORD, the God of Israel our father, forever and ever.

 

Yours, O LORD, is the greatness and the victory and the majesty, for all that is in the heavens and in the earth is yours.  Yours is the kingdom, O LORD, and You are exalted as head above all.

 

Both riches and honor come from you, and you rule over all.  In your hand are power and might, and in your hand it is to make great and to give strength to all.”

 

I pray these things in the name of Jesus Christ my Lord.  Amen.”

One thought on “This is what I prayed”

  1. Dear Pas. Mike and brother in our Father God.
    I am a friend of the Steenblock’s. We went to the same Church “Grace Reformed” in Las Vegas. Well I am not very eloquent in word. However, I as well know that our God Father sent His only Son to die for my sins.
    I will continue to pray for you.
    Much love in the Lord, Sue Gromek

    Like

Leave a Reply

