Karla Speaks:Good Music is Good Medicine

Mike has asked me to post again.  The hardest part of posting is figuring out what to write about.  I’m a statistician (well I used to be, anyway) and not a writer, but once I figure out what to write about, the words seem to start flowing.  So, good music is the topic of the day. 

I have been spending a great deal of time planning for the time we will be in Rochester.  I’m the mom, so I have to care about everyone’s needs.  We had planned to take Jared with us, but it eventually became apparant that that was not such a good idea.  My newly married sister, Kara, will be coming back to help with the kids the first week.  What a huge relief that is!  As I do all this preparation, I eventually end up stressed out.  That’s when I turn on the music.

I don’t listen to just any music.  The radio generally does not provide what I need.  What I need is music that will make me happy and say what I need to hear.  I need songs that say things like, “Thank you for the trials” and “You have always been faithful, and You will always be good.”  (The You here is, of course, God.)  Both of these lyrics are from songs on the Sovereign Grace   CD, Come Weary Saints.  Isn’t that an appropriate title for a CD that ministers to me?  I am definitely a weary saint right now!

I usually sing along, but sometimes I absolutely cannot sing, “thank you for the trials,” because at that moment that is not how I feel.  However, I find that if I listen to such songs, the truth of them rolls over me and I end up in a better frame of mind.  I think these types of songs help me to align myself with what God thinks, and to get over the pity party I was previously having. 

So if you drive by my house and look in my kitchen window, don’t be surprised to see me singing and dancing around the kitchen as I go about my day.  I probably needed a break from the extra stresses of this time in my life and am getting my mind and heart back to where they should be!

3 thoughts on “Karla Speaks:Good Music is Good Medicine”

  1. Imagine my surprise when I read the blog this morning and saw that you referenced the Sovereign Grace CD “Come Weary Saints”. We are a part of a Sovereign Grace church and this theme permeated our worship service yesterday. Karla, I will be praying for you, dear weary saint.

    Like

  2. Karla,
    You don’t know me but I went to high school with Mike. I just wanted to say I so appreciated your honesty in your post regarding not wanting the trials that we sometimes face. Even Jesus, in Gesthemane, asked the Father to take away his cup of trials…he knew what was was coming but because he was fully human and fully God, he understood the pain it would cause him and probably dreaded it. But if God had taken away the crucifixion, then the Resurrection would have never happened. I know you know all this but sometimes I feel comforted by the fact that Jesus may have dreaded things, too, and he understands our apprehension and fear because he experienced it as well. So we can take our apprehension and fear and give it to him.

    Hope the childcare goes well during your absence, as well. Just this past weekend my three-year-old spent his first night away from both Mommy and Daddy. I was worried, but he was absolutely fine. Your kids will be well cared-for, too, I’m sure.

    Blessings,
    Lora

    Like

  3. Karla,
    I’m not sure how it happened that we knew nothing about Mike’s seizure or the resulting testing, etc. that your family has been going through during the past months, but Henry just stumbled upon this information and shared it with me this morning! Needless to say, we will be praying for you, your family, the doctors, the surgery, and all of the details of this upcoming week. Just browsing through the blog gives me an overwhelming sigh… of how you and Mike are being an incredible testimony to God during this difficult time! Plus, I am so thankful to see that Mike’s sense of humor has not been dimmed in the least. I love you, admire you, and want you to know that I will be praying for you, Karla!

    Like

Leave a Reply

