A Few Thoughts on the Eve of Leaving

 

On the evening before leaving for Rochester (Sat.) I wanted to jot down a few thoughts while I’m still thinking about them.

  • I have an excellent wife.  Proverbs 31:10 says “An excellent wife who can find?  She is far more precious than jewels.”  The answer to the first question is:  I did (by God’s Providence).  The only thing I can say about the second sentence is: Yes, my wife is worth more to me than the sum total of the earth’s wealth.  Thanks Karla for your faith, your strength, your beauty, your commitment to mothering, your commitment to teaching our children, and for your partnership in the Gospel ministry.  I love you much!
  • I am very tired of talking about my brain surgery.  I’m tired of thinking about my brain surgery.  Talking about one’s brain is very personal.  It’s not like we’re talking here about getting a few warts removed from one’s foot.  Maybe it’s not really such a good thing to publicly share such personal information. Before the techno age not many talked publicly about such things.  Is nothing sacred anymore?  This I think in one moment while in the next I am reminded again and again of the multi-faceted, glorious working of God in all things for His own glory and my own joy.  So, I’ve decided to keep typing.
  • So many things to do and no way to get them all done.  But, tomorrow afternoon we leave anyway and I’m sure whatever didn’t get done didn’t really need to get done anyway.
  • The tears flow easily these days…more often than I have ever known before. I’m not sure why really. I’m not afraid. I am a bit unnerved I suppose.  But really, I am not afraid. I’ve known fear before.  As a young kid I remember once being at home alone and thinking that someone had broken into the house.  I hid underneath a bed until I heard the sweet voices of my parents.  I see life these days as they really are: fragile.  
  • The Bible tells it like it is.  Jesus’ half brother James wrote in 4:13-14 “Come now, you who say, ‘today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit.’ Yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes.”
  • A pastor friend of mine has a 15 year old niece who has enjoyed excellent health.  A couple of weeks ago she came down with what the family thought was the flu.   After being sick for a couple of days they took her to the hospital, found her dehydrated and gave her two units of fluid.   Her blood pressure was also way down.  After being rehydrated her b.p. improved slightly.  She returned home.  

    Five hours later her parents brough her back to the E.R. and then a children’s hospital. She now had a high temperature and her body literally began to shut down.  The major organs were beginning to fail.   She was dying.  They put her into a drug induced coma for three days.  A week ago Thursday the medical staff went to turn her over when she reached out and yanked the ventilator out of her throat…and thankfully began to breathe on her own.   She was diagnosed with Toxic Shock Syndrome and is slowly recovering.  Apparently this deadly bacteria can enter through any bodily orifice…as simple as rubbing one eye with one finger.  Thankfully she is now doing much better.

  •  Hundreds of you, and others who don’t even have computers have, with all sincerity, offered to do anything for us during these days.  I know every offer is sincere.  Here is one thing each of you can do.  Instead of worrying yourselves sick over this whole drama I would ask that you turn in your Bibles to Psalm 27.  Read through the 14 verses of this chapter, think about the implications.  If David’s words express the truth of your own heart, then may it first be a balm for your soul.  Then please pray it for us as well.  That’s what I would ask for you to do for us!  Oh yes, and also keep the responses coming.  I see and read everyone…with joy!

 

5 thoughts on “A Few Thoughts on the Eve of Leaving”

  1. Pastor Mike (and Karla and Family),

    You don’t know me, but I have enjoyed reading your Patros Logos Column in the Niche Newsletter for as long as I can remember. You have said many things, both in that column and on your blog to which I have said “Amen!”

    Here is a link to a song that has been particularly meaningful to me, and perhaps it will provide you with some comfort as well. It’s called Psalm 62.

    May God continue to be gracious to you, as He has so far.

    Blessings,
    Tony

    Like

  2. To my Beloved Brother in Christ Mike Evans:

    From Philippians Chapter 1

    Yes, and I will continue to rejoice, 19for I know that through your prayers and the help given by the Spirit of Jesus Christ, what has happened to me will turn out for my deliverance.[d] 20I eagerly expect and hope that I will in no way be ashamed, but will have sufficient courage so that now as always Christ will be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death. 21For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain. 22If I am to go on living in the body, this will mean fruitful labor for me. Yet what shall I choose? I do not know! 23I am torn between the two: I desire to depart and be with Christ, which is better by far; 24but it is more necessary for you that I remain in the body. 25Convinced of this, I know that I will remain, and I will continue with all of you for your progress and joy in the faith, 26so that through my being with you again your joy in Christ Jesus will overflow on account of me.

    My earnest and heartfelt prayer for you is summed up in verses 25 and 26. We boldly intercede on your behalf before the throne of Grace to the Glory of our Great and Sovereign God!

    Soli Deo Gloria

    Paul

    Like

  3. Mike & Karla,
    Please know that we are with you in our thoughts and in our prayers.
    We are with you.
    We are with you.
    We are with you.
    We are pleading to our Heavenly Father for your safe keeping and speedy recovery.

    “For Thine is the Kingdom, the Power, and the Glory forever. Amen.”

    Much much love,
    Craig & Angie

    Like

  4. We are praying for you. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog today. What is very interesting, is like our daughter’s birth before “viability”, and the 5-month hospitalization afterward, you’ve quoted so many of the exact same bible verses that kept us going in that time. Our daughter had a “less than 1% chance for survival”. You know what? God took that tiny bit and turned it into a 100% chance and she’ll be 9 years old in 11 days! He can do the same for you, too. Remember Who is on your side and Who holds you in the palm of His hand! While you may not see the reasons now about all of this, it will be made clear in time. Keep finding the blessings in small things and the humor in life. That’s how we made it through. We learned so much about praying and truly leaning on the Lord. Yes, in this electronic age, it seems so weird to open our lives to strangers and friends all over the world. But I truly believe that the connection of the Internet is a blessing so the Word of the Lord can be spread to all. You never know when one little thing you’ve said from this whole nightmare can be such an incredible blessing and testimony to others. So hang in there, we’ll be praying, and keeping updated.

    Love in Christ,
    Julie C.

    Like

  5. He who has led will lead
    All through the wilderness,
    He who has fed will surely feed…
    He who has heard your cry
    Will never close His ear,
    He who has marked your faintest sigh
    will never forget your tear,
    He loveth always, faileth never.
    So rest on Him today – forever
    -Amy Carmichael

    These words were sent to me when Chloe was first diagnosed.

    You are in our prayers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

