They wouldn’t budge on the gowns but I do have my computer in ICU

You long time readers of my blog will remember that I am no fan of hospital gowns.  It became very clear early on that these folks were not going to budge on this issue and let me wear doctors’ scrubs as in my October visit to Methodist Hospital in Des Moines.

Not easily dissuaded I had to direct my attention another direction.  In Karla’s  posting today she mentioned that we were informed by hospital staff that laptops were not allowed in ICU.  Guess where I am as I type these very words.  Diplomacy with a smile could change many things in this world for the better!

On another note:  You all might be encouraged to hear of an encouraging Providential encounter I had this afternoon.  Lest any of you skeptics out there  imagine that God is not at work in all of this in countless ways that the whole lot of us combined can hardly begin to imagine…listen to this.

After the cerebral angiogram and embolization this morning I was taken up to ICU somewhere around noon.  The 3-11 p.m. ICU nurse came  into the room and, after performing all of his necessary procedural stuff, asked me if I was from Iowa and if I write a column for a Christian Newsletter for home-schooling dads in Iowa.

He and his wife receive this newsletter and read it…all the way up here in Rochester.  Randy is a brother in Christ and yet another encourgement to my soul that the Lord truly is with us in this journey…no, not just with us…He is behind, before, and all around us!

Our day began early this morning as another Randy (a big-hearted pastor we hardly even know) was here at the break of dawn to pray with us and encourage us as we actually begin to deal with this thing! I hereby declare Tuesday Feb. 9, 2009, as “God bless the Randys of the world day.”

Psalm 91:1 says “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say to the Lord, ‘My refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.'”  Dwelling and abiding is everything it’s cracked up to be.

4 thoughts on “They wouldn’t budge on the gowns but I do have my computer in ICU”

  1. Greetings my friend, sorry to hear you lost the battle on the scrubs. I didn’t think you would be able to bully your way around at Mayo like you did in Des Moines :). Glad you were able to post; it’s good to hear from you. Karla you did a great job on posting and emailing today. Thank you for keeping us up to date.

    I don’t know if this experience will change your thinking on animal love put Truman says Hi lakdfljakdfjladsjfl 🙂 He’s not very good at typing, but has managed to chew another hole in my sock and chewed the end off of my belt the other day.

    Where were we, oh yes have a great evening the food at Mayo is very good so enjoy. Lord willing see you tomorrow.

    God Bless
    Dean

    Like

  2. Too bad on the scrubs, Mike! You know, I actually prayed during my “designated” 30 minutes yesterday morning that you would be able to wear scrubs and not a hospital gown! Oh well, God is sovereign in this, too…

    On a more serious note, we are so thankful for the successful start to the Mayo leg of this journey. During my prayer time last night, I had this overwhelming sense of the unity of God’s people as I thought of all the people throughout the world who were united together in prayer for you and your family. What a privilege it is to be a part of God’s universal church. May that continue to lift you up during this time.

    We love you all and boldly ask God for a miraculous surgery today and Thursday.

    Trusting Him with you,

    Lynne and Dale

    Like

  3. Greetings, Mike and Karla. Very glad that the procedure went well and will be praying constantly today that the tests today will reveal nothing major caused by the small seizure. I was reviewing II Cor 5:7 this morning–“For we walk by faith and not by sight.” Last night Becky was recording some songs with Kathy on the piano that were done in the service Sunday. “So quiet my restless heart…in You.” (As Long as You are Glorified)

    Spurgeon said “Prayer can never be in excess,” and it seems that this trial is causing an abundance of intercession that brings great pleasure and glory to Him.

    Thanks again, Mike, for your careful concern for and love of the music in our worship.

    Carroll

    Carroll

    Like

  4. God is soooooo good! His reminders that ‘He is with us’ are everywhere, and in every detail. I pray you will continued to be amazed and astonished at the kindness of our Loving Father ! We continue to pray, pray, pray…… It is all of us who should be thanking you, for it is an honor and priveledge to go before the throne of the Living God with petitions and requests on behalf of our brothers and sisters in Christ !! We love you !! May God’s peace and blessings continue to pour forth !

    Like

Leave a Reply

