Had a seizure this morning (Wed. 6:30a.m.)

Dear friends,

I wanted to let you all know that I had a seizure this morning, a generalized tonic clonic, that lasted for 60 seconds.  The nurse had just walked into the room when my right arm, which was laying at my side, began to raise up incrementally and involuntarily until it was over my head.

Then it sort of took over my whole body.  I was lucid throughout and tried to make myself come out of it…but I couldn’t do it.  What an amazing sense of utter helplessness.  I heard every conversation and word that was spoken.  Now THAT was scary.  I didn’t know if I’d ever come out of it or if I would be able to breathe much longer.

The strapping male nurse (probably 6’4″ 250 pounds) and rugby player, held me down, along with a team of others.  They said I was strong.  That made me smile inside.  This seizure, and coming out of it, was entirely different than my experience back in October.  After today’s seizure I was lucid once again within ten minutes.

The really smart guy that follows Dr. Meyer around and will also be a part of the surgery (perhaps a neurosurgical fellow) was in the room within 5 minutes assuring me that things were all right.  He said they had ordered a CT to see if any bleeding had occurred. Thankfully it showed that none had.  As of now the angiogram and embolization procedure is still on for later this morning.

The embolization of arteries redirects blood flow and pressures in the brain,  thus causing seizures.    I guess that’s why they put me in ICU.

The exact same Bible verse that came to me as I was coming out of the seizure in October came to me again today at the end of this episode.  Only this time I quoted it to the fellow and the nurse, through  closed eyes and slurred speech.

“Whom have I in heaven but you?   And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever” (Psalm73:25-26).

Please pray that today’ embolization will not lead to more seizures prior to surgery tomorrow.

A couple more things I am thankful for that I neglected to record yesterday:

  • Those of you who are fasting and praying (even beyond those in our church)
  • All five of my children, each one a unique treasure to their mother and me.
  • The Panera Grilled Chicken Caesar Salad I chowed down last night.
  • Stams Chocolates
  • Each and every day!

Thanks for battling with us!

13 thoughts on “Had a seizure this morning (Wed. 6:30a.m.)”

  1. It’s good to hear your voice, Mike!
    We are praying and waiting with you all through this!
    much love,
    Craig & Angie

    Like

  2. Praying for your successful surgery Thursday along with my friend Lynn. My niece Stacy had surgery for seizures about 10 years ago and is doing well! God Bless you and your family.

    Like

  3. Thanks for keeping us up to date. I’m hanging at home with Cole and Ben. Cole was a little under the weather this morning, but we are headed back to school shortly. Strength and faith to you.

    Like

  4. Mike and Karla,
    We are so sorry you are having to go through this surgery. I know when I was so ill seven years ago, it was often harder on Jeff than myself.(thanks to medication) So Karla, Hang in there girl!!! The waiting and long hours seem endless.
    We are praying for the best possible outcome. You are in good hands at Mayo, but more importantly, you rest in the hands of the almighty God.
    Karen and Jeff Whitt

    Like

  5. My prayers are with you and your family. The following is my favorite scripture for this season:

    Isaiah 43
    The Savior of Israel
    1 But now, O Jacob, listen to the Lord who created you.
    O Israel, the one who formed you says,
    “Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you.
    I have called you by name; you are mine.
    2 When you go through deep waters,
    I will be with you.
    When you go through rivers of difficulty,
    you will not drown.
    When you walk through the fire of oppression,
    you will not be burned up;
    the flames will not consume you.
    3 For I am the Lord, your God,
    the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.
    I gave Egypt as a ransom for your freedom;
    I gave Ethiopia[a] and Seba in your place.
    4 Others were given in exchange for you.
    I traded their lives for yours
    because you are precious to me.
    You are honored, and I love you.
    5 “Do not be afraid, for I am with you.
    I will gather you and your children from east and west.
    6 I will say to the north and south,
    ‘Bring my sons and daughters back to Israel
    from the distant corners of the earth.
    7 Bring all who claim me as their God,
    for I have made them for my glory.
    It was I who created them.’”

    Like

  6. Mike,

    Glad the first embolization went well and that the seizure was short-lived. I wanted you to know that my Women-to-Women bible study at Calvary Bible Evangelical Free Church in Boulder is praying for you, too. I even took my old high school yearbook so they could see who they are praying for – they all thought you were such a handsome young man!

    I love the “Last Lecture” book and gave it to my sister for her 50th birthday last summer. I am sure you have many, many more sermons left to preach. You are an inspiration.

    God Bless you,

    Lora

    Like

  7. Mike,
    Glad your seizure was short lived this morning. My reassurance was the fact you were the one still blogging, not someone else! The EMT in me has a question, I’d love it if you have time to get an answer: Why did they hold you down during your seizure? We are taught that you just keep the person from hurting themselves, not subdue them. Or is it different in ICU, do you not have much room to move in bed or you’ll fall? Just wondering, always trying to keep learning. Thanks & God Bless you, Karla & the Drs. at this time.
    Vicky

    [Mike says: Good question Vicky. I think they did just enough to keep me from falling completely out of bed…which for a few seconds probably seemed like holding me down. They calmly talked me through it just like you all did back in Oct. assuring me that it would be okay. You all do great work and are a huge blessing to our town of Earlham]

    Like

  8. Mike & Karla,
    My financee knows the people you are staying with threw your trial of illness.RACINE AREA.

    Your story and endless real life battles of illness touch me SO deep. As I write to you the tears are rolling down my cheeks…I have been blessed to feel the hurt of others and my compassion runs deep.

    I was diagnosed with B-Cell Non-Hodgkins Lymphnoma Stage 4 and was given only 4 weeks to live and that was October 2007. PRAISE GOD… I am still here for my 9 year old son, to be able to breath the fresh air, see the Lords beautiful sunrises and sunsets, and the list is endless!!

    I AM BELIEVING WITH YOU GOD’S PROMISES FOR YOU! HIS PLANS TO PROSPER YOU NOT TO HARM YOU TO GIVE YOU HOPE AND A FUTURE! BY HIS STRIPES YOU ARE HEALED MIKE IN THE NAME OF JESUS!! I SPEAK LIFE LIFE MORE ABUNDANTLY FOR YOU MIKE! I PRAY FOR STRENGTH TO RISE ABOVE WITHIN YOU…GOD’S STRENGTH. FOR HE IS UNSTOPPABLE, UNCHANGEABLE, OUR OMEGA! THANK YOU JESUS FOR NEVER LEAVING MIKE NEVER FORSAKING MIKE! O LORD, I PRAY THAT YOUR HAND BE ON THE DOCTORS..GIVE THEM THE WISDOM AND KNOWLEDGE TO REDIRECT THE ARTARIES AND FOR THE PRESSURE TO BE GONE … IN THE NAME OF JESUS. i PRAY DEAR LORD FOR KARLA AND ALL FAMILY MEMBERS, TO POUR YOUR PEACE UPON THEM , BLANKET THEM WITH YOUR LOVE! THANK YOU LORD THAT YOU WORK ALL THE GOOD TO THOSE WHO LOVE YOU AND DILIGENTLY SEEK YOU!

    IN MY PRAYERS AND BELIEVING YOU(mike)
    WILL BE OUT ENJOYING THE SUNSHINE WITH YOUR FAMILY REAL SOON. GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR FAMILY. PEGGY SUE

    Like

  9. Mike, you ARE STRONG! In body, mind and spirit. I think about your amazing attitude and the quiet fortitude you exude through your actions and words. My thoughts, hopes and prayers are with you, especially in the next few days. Always, your rescue guy – Dan

    Like

  10. Mike
    I am putting my cousin in Long Island, NY in touch with you. Her name is Jackie Kelly and she had AVM. She knows exactly what you are going through and what lies ahead. I am glad to tell you that her recovery, although not easy, it has been remarkable. She is a teacher in Brooklyn, and one of the most active people I know. You would now not even know that she has ever dealt with AVM. Hanna and family went to NY last July to visit.
    Jackie is just now been notified of your blog. I hope that her experience will give you hope and courage. She knows better than anyone what you are going through. She may be contacting you soon!
    Be strong.
    Steve & Monica Feller

    Like

  11. Mike and Karla,
    We’re praying for you and your family throughout each day this week. May you feel God’s love and comfort each step along the way.
    It’s wonderful to hear of the opportunities that the Lord has for you to let His light and love shine in the midst of all of this.
    One moment at a time,
    Brian and Peggy Willard

    Like

  12. Mike and Karla,
    You are in my prayers today as you face this giant
    called brain surgery. Reading you web site is bringing back alot of memories and I remember all to well the emotions that go slong with it all.
    I am touched by your heart and faith in our Father
    and I know He will sustain you through it all. Our God reigns!
    Kelly Bartlett

    Like

Leave a Reply

