First Morning Post-Surgery

Good morning, dear people.   From my perspective, things look much better at 8 in the morning than at 8 at night after a long day of waiting through a surgery!  According to the nurses, Mike had a peaceful night.  He did not have any seizures, so we thank God for that.  He was kept sedated all night, although they woke him up occasionally for neurological checks, which were all good.

As expected, he has no movement on his right side.  They are going to hopefully extubate by noon and then we will know whether or not he can talk.  We are still hopeful that he will be able to talk. 

I was able to be in the room when they did the neurological check at 8:00.  He opened his eyes and looked at me briefly, and held onto my hand for several minutes.  He squeezed it three times, which for 23 years has been our personal way to say “I love you.”  He also responded to pain when they squeezed the toes on his right foot and fingers on his right hand.

The plan for today is to get him awakened and see what happens.  Dr. Meyer has said that Mike will not have much pain, just a really bad headache.  The only reason he needs to stay in ICU another night is to make sure the blood pressure stays lower to protect against bleeding. 

The neurosurgeon will be in again tomorrow morning and decide whether or not Mike can move from ICU to a regular neuro floor.  He also indicated that hopefully he will be ready to have the physical therapist come and start to put together a plan for rehab.

Mike and I were engaged 23 years ago today.  We keep telling each other that this is one of those “for worse” times.  As far as our marriage goes, this is not a “for worse” time, as our marriage has gotten stronger.  It has been, and continues to be, very stressful, but we are trusting in God to sustain our entire family through this trial.

We just found out that they have begun to wean him off of the ventilator.  We will continue to post updates throughout the day.

14 thoughts on “First Morning Post-Surgery”

  1. Karla,

    I am so encouraged by your words today. The love you and Mike share is so precious. I see it every time we’re with you. I see it in the way you look at each other and the unspoken words. I will continue to pray for God to uplift you, encourage you and bring you peace. I’ll also pray Mike is able to move on his right side soon and that he is able to tell you how much he loves you once the ventilator is out.

    Knowing you’re in the most precious hands of all,
    Kayla

    Like

  2. Karla,

    Thank you for taking the time to post these encouraging words. I am sure it can be difficult to hold on to hope at times but I do hear it in your words. It’s cute ‘cuz Paul and I have the same 3 squeeze signal for I love you and we were engaged 21 years ago tomorrow. Awww….:-)

    We’ll continue to beseech the Lord for Mike and you. He is always faithful and good. I trust and pray He is at work in a mighty way. May He get all the glory!

    Hugs and love, Adele

    Like

  3. Karla,

    Thank you so much for your update on Mike. I’ve been thinking about him, you, and your entire family and wondering how the surgery went.

    God bless you all!

    Kirk

    Like

  4. Karla;
    I’m glad I wasn’t speaking to you via phone when you gave this report! I was reading it to Terry and when I got to the ‘hand squeezing part’ I couldn’t go on because of the tears. I squeaked out, “You’ll have to read the rest . . .” This is what faith is all about – trusting our Saviour for what is not seen! We love you both!
    Karol (for Terry, too)

    Like

  5. Karla,

    Thanks so much for keeping us updated. Dad and Shirley want you to know they’ve been hoping and praying for you and Mike. Since the folks don’t have the internet, I’m keeping them up to date after monitoring the blog.

    Keep the faith – God is at work here, as you know.

    Like

  6. Karla,
    Thank you for the update. Our minds are not here in Winterset, but with you and Mike. Many praises and prayers continue to go up!

    Sing to the LORD, all the earth! Tell of his salvation from day to day. Declare his glory among all the peoples! For great is the LORD, and greatly to be praised, and he is to be held in awe above all gods. For all the gods of the peoples are idols, but the LORD made the heavens. Splendor and majesty are before him; strength and joy are in his place.
    1 Chornicles 16: 23-27.

    Three (we love you) squeezes from us,
    Angie for the Fletchers

    Like

  7. Dear Karla, Learned about Mike’s blog from Karen & Rodney last night. Will continue to pray for Mike’s complete recovery.strength,wisdom,courage,patience& perserverance for you Mike & your family. Our God is an awesome God & we must never underestimate his power & goodness. Love to all of you, Joan

    Like

  8. Stay calm and confident, and give God time to work.

    Moses said to the people: Do not be afraid. Stand still, and see the salvation of the Lord, which He will accomplish for you today. For the Egyptians whom you see today, you shall see again no more forever. The Lord will fight for you and you shall hold your peace.”
    Exodus 14:13-14

    Red Sea Rule #5
    The Red Sea Rules by Robert Morgan

    Much love and blessings.

    Like

  9. Karla, and Mike,

    Just wanted you to both know that we are praying for you and you are in our thoughts these days. We are also remembering your children too. You are at a great place and the care there is wonderful. Several years ago our daughter Steph had heart surgery there. God bless. Bob & Paula Spilger Ferguson, Iowa

    Like

  10. So glad to hear the surgery went well. We have been praying and will continue to do so. You two are great witnesses of God’s love. So wonderful that Mike could tell you he loved you in your own special way. Surely God has shown you His love also. God Bless! Lyle and Patty Peasley

    Like

  11. Hi Pastor Mike & Karla!
    These verses have been on my heart all day…
    Psalm 71:1
    1) In You, O Lord, I have taken refuge; Let me never be ashamed.
    2) In Your righteousness deliver me and resue me: Incline Your ear to me and save me.
    3) Be to me a rock of habitation to which I may continually come; You have given commandment to save me, for You are my rock and my fortress.
    7) I have become a marvel to many, For You are my strong refuge.
    8) My mouth is with Your praise and with Your glory all day long.
    21) May You increase my greatness and turn to comfort me.

    Am keeping you all in prayer.
    In Christ
    Shelle

    Like

Leave a Reply

