Friday Evening

This is basically just an update of the day, nothing dramatic.

According to the nurses, Mike has had a good day.  They had him extubated by 10:00.  I went in periodically throughout the day, but had to leave if his blood pressure went too high.  For some reason, it seemed to soar when I was in there.

Shortly after noon they got him up in a chair.  Then they took the bandage off his head and tube out.  Most people won’t even be able to see the incision because it mostly on top of his head. 

He smiles when he sees us and answers questions by squeezing my hand, so in spite of all the medication we are certainly seeing his personality.  One of the nurses said to me, “He has a good sense of humor, doesn’t he?”  So, he is obviously communicating with us.  He is quite frustrated about the lack of movement and speech. 

Please continue to pray that Mike would begin to regain some of these functions, that his blood pressure would stay down, that the swelling would decrease quickly, that there would be no bleeding, and that he would be patient.

11 thoughts on “Friday Evening”

  1. Karla,

    Thank you for the update. It is great that Mike is able to sit in a chair and smile and communicate. I’m sure you must be exhausted. We will pray for the regaining of movement and speech as the swelling decreases and for the Lord to put his gentle arms around all of you so you can feel His comfort.

    Lora

    Like

  2. Karla, you all are in our constant prayers. I have read the whole blog. Thank You for keeping us up to date. We have a powerful church and they are all praying for you all. The Lord is good and it will be interesting to see what he has in store for Mike. What a witness he is.
    Our reunion class has a blog site and I wrote to them to have them pray for Mike, I’m sure they remember him. Bless You Rut and Larry

    Like

  3. Karla,
    You’re on our hearts and minds continually. We’re praying for Mike and all of you often, as are many others here. Thanks for your updates; they help us know how to focus our prayers. May your heart be encouraged as you wait…praying for patience and trust for you both.
    Love, Lisa

    Like

  4. Karla, I am Kathy Osborne’s sister. I just wanted to let you and Mike and your family know that we have been and will continue to pray for all of you.

    God Bless you,

    Donna Galbreath

    Like

  5. Karla,

    You and Mike and your whole family are in our prayers. We have shared pictures of your family (from the church website) with friends and church members. They expressed that this has helped to facilitate their prayers for you. We are praying for each step and will continue to remain attentive to your needs and requests.

    Love, Brent, Laurie, and Hunter

    Like

  6. Karla,

    Thank you for your feedback, Diane and I will continue to pray for you, your family and Mike.

    Joe and Diane

    Like

  7. Dear Karla,

    Thank-you for updating everyone so faithfully. I am encouraged and am praying for Mike daily, as well as for you and the children. I have emailed my homegroup and ask that they be praying, too. God is at work and I thank Him for your example of faith in the midst of such challenge.

    Like

  8. Jeff and I continue to pray for complete recovery. When I was sick, I was in for 24 days and on a vent for 6, so I know so much of the frustration one feels when your control is taken from you. I got so tired of people poking me with needles and serving me cream of crap soup.
    Please know you are in our prayers Mike and Karla.

    Like

  9. “Day by day and with each passing moment strength I find to meet my trials here…”

    Deut. 33:25 “as thy days, so shall thy strength be. “

    Like

  10. While sitting in my hospital room with Joey I have been listening to sermons by John Piper. I have been so overwhelmed by the messages I have heard this morning on suffering that have spoken to me and thought they might be something you might also like to listen to while inpatient. There is a sermon series called “Called to Suffer and Rejoice” on the link below that I have been listening to. I know you like John Piper so maybe you have already listened to them, but thought I would put the link on just in case. Dean and I are praying for you…

    http://www.desiringgod.org/ResourceLibrary/Sermons/ByTopic/32/

    Like

  11. Karla and Mike,
    Shannon sent me a link to your blog. I have to say I was shocked. I’m sure you were too. After reading the blog, it stuck me how fantastic an attitude Mike has. If anyone can get through this, Mike can. Sherry and I are thinking of you both.

    John

    Like

Leave a Reply

