Families Together in the Family Waiting Room

As I have been hanging out in the Mary Brigh 8D Family Waiting room, I have observed and met many families.  These people are very kind and interested in what is going on with each other.  I have had an opportunity to talk with several families about health crises they are facing.

I met one family whose son came home from high school on Wednesday to find his mother on the floor.  She had a brain hemmorhage and was basically in the same condition as Mike was following surgery.  Her husband and children shared the same frustration as I did with the lack of communication.  They were excited to hear that Mike was talking, as he knows what it is like to not be able to communicate.  I will be able to follow their journey as they have started a Caring Bridge site.

Another woman is here from Montana with her son who suffers from uncontrolled seizures.  He currently has a grid on his brain to determine exactly where the seizures are coming from.  They will then take out the part of his brain that is the problem.  I told his mom today that people in my family have had seizures for the past 30 years and this was the first time I had ever prayed for someone to have a seizure.  He had one this morning.

It has been good to be able to pray for others when I wake  up in the night.  Every family here is in a crisis situation, and some are trusting in God and others aren’t.  You can certainly see the difference.  I hope to be able to pass along a word of hope as I talk to these people.  Our situation has certainly given me greater compassion for other people.

2 thoughts on “Families Together in the Family Waiting Room”

  1. Karla-This morning I was headed out to preach, when I got word of Mike speaking. It was so awesome to hear that might spoke. I’m not given to emotion, but I about lost it. This morning my message was on Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego. I was so thankful that God who is free to step in to save has chosen to do great things for Mike. We don’t want to bug you, but you all are in our constant thoughts and prayers. It’s certainly true that in this world we have tribulation, but we do have the hope of eternal life. Can’t imagine going through something like this with out knowing God. When He’s up for it, give Mike a little punch on the shoulder for me. But not yet!! Hang in there. TC

    Like

  2. Hi Karla,

    We know this must be so hard for you. I have no other way but to ask through this blog, but is there anything Bill and I can do for you – Mike? Please advise. We’re thinking of you every day and praying constantly.

    Thanks and love and strength to you,
    Barbara

    Like

Leave a Reply

