A Quick Update

This will be quick, because snow is coming and I am heading back to the house where I am staying.

The doctor was just in and Mike said, “Greetings, Dr. Folgerstrom.”  That would be great, except his last name is Fogleson!  This guy has a sense of humor and got a kick out of it. 

Mike has been much more alert and talking a lot more this afternoon.  His temperature is below 100 now, which is good.  All the fluid that was around the incision wound following has gone away, so they are pretty sure the infection is not from the surgery. 

Several people have asked what the name of the bacteria is.  It is not one that is often seen and I couldn’t possibly remember it.  I will ask the doctor to write down the name tomorrow.

Mike had a great physical therapy session today.  They had him sitting up and writing and then standing, assisted, next to the bed.  Apparantly the gludious maximus muscle is starting to work, which is a very good thing.

I had better get going.  I plan on getting a good night’s sleep tonight.  Dr. Fogleson said as he left that he is on call all weekend and that he hopes for some good cases this weekend.  He left and returned an few seconds later and said, “That means I want to people.”  We knew that.  He had a long day of surgery.  That wanting to help people is why we are here!

3 thoughts on “A Quick Update”

  1. Karla,

    I hope you had a good night’s rest last night. We all want to support Mike, but we all want to support YOU as well…

    Thinking of you and praying for you.

    – Larry & Karen

    Like

  2. Karla,

    I am now back from Haiti. Nancy and I have been keeping up on the news and praying constantly. Call her anytime you want.

    I know this is hard. Remember what Mike told you about his God… and yours.

    John Mochel

    Like

  3. Dear Mike and Karla,
    It wasn’t obvious, but it was true. Joseph was hated by his brothers sold into slavery, lied about cast into prison where he stayed for years — and twice in the midst of this story of painful loss we are assured ‘and the Lord was with Joseph (Genesis 39:2,21).

    It isn’t obvious, but it is true. Mike had a seizure that led to surgery that has led to some brutal side affects the extent of which are yet to be determined but which include temporary loss of the use of limbs, dreadfully high fever from a blood infection and many others that I don’t know anything about. ‘And the Lord was with Mike and Karla, and the Lord is with Mike and Karla, and the Lord will ever be with Mike and Karla. It isn’t obvious, but it is true. If I were in your shoes I think I should have a hard time believing it. My prayer for you has been and continues to be that the Lord would enable you to believe it — to sense his presence and find rest in it. And I am also praying that Lord would take compassion upon Mike and restore the limbs to the fullest usefulness, remove the pain and bring back the clearest thinking.

    Mike, maybe in fact your thinking would become so clear that you would agree with me more often than you have in the past.

    I love you both and grieve for your present trials.

    Randy

    I think of you and pray for you many times each day these days.

    Randy

    Like

Leave a Reply

