Another Rough Evening

Just when I think we’ve turned the corner, something else happens.  During physical therapy, Mike started to feel funny, then proceeded to have a seizure.  He was standing at the time, and thankfully the therapists told him to sit down just before the seizure started.  He rested for awhile, and then sat up to eat.  After eating, he wanted to sit in a chair for awhile.  Shortly after he sat up, he had another seizure.  They gave him a shot of ativan, so he slept for quite awhile.  They do not have any reason yet, but it may be the new antibiotic he started this morning.

I usually do not read all that drug information they give, but happened to this morning.  One of the possible, but unlikely, side effects is seizures.  This medication may have lowered his seizure threshold even to allow seizures.  I told the attending, who then told our one of our usual doctors.  He came in and told him that the attending had thought of this.  I told him it was actually me, which got a laugh out of everyone.  He is now back on the previous antibiotic.

They have also started him on an second anti-seizure medication.  Hopefully these two changes will take care of the problem.

His day is scheduled to start at 7:30.  He is very much looking forward to getting dressed in real clothes!

Mike was initially in a room with another man, as there are no private rooms available.  He had a terrible cough and had the t.v. on all the time and Mike was not able to concentrate on what the various therpies.  We were able to get a different room that currently does not have anyone else in it.  It is to be filled last, but he could end up with a roommate.  I told someone today that we needed to pray for all those people who could possibly end up in here, that their progress would be so good that they would not need rehab!

In addition to these things I’ve mentioned, please be praying for our kids and my sister.  Jared has an ear infection and apparently Luke has not felt well but didn’t tell anyone.  Nothing new there!  I really do not want the stomach flu to go through the rest of the family.

Off to sleep in the lovely foldout chair they brought me!  This will be a new experience.  You’ll be hearing from me tomorrow.

7 thoughts on “Another Rough Evening”

  1. Karla,

    I’ll be sharing a devotional in a few minutes during a teachers’ meeting on Psalm 121, which reminds us that our “help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.” We know He made the heavens and the earth and everything in them, so we know He has the power to help you and Mike. Hang in there, we’re praying for you many times daily.

    Scott Harpe in Bangkok

    Like

  2. Dear Karla and Mike,

    What is there to say?

    James 1:2-6 2 Count it all joy, my brothers,(1 )when you meet trials of various kinds, 3 for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. 4 And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. 5 If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. 6 But let him ask in faith,

    You are clearly meeting trials of various kinds and I have no doubt that steadfastness is more in evidence and more on the increase than you even realize. God is perfecting you — He has placed you on the fast track — no one signs up for this track, the Lord just signs you up without asking and then the course begins.

    May today have more encouragement in it from the Lord than yesterday. I grieve for both of you and pray for you throughout the day. I sometimes ask the Lord, ‘is all this that you are sending Mike and Karla through really necessary?

    Hold fast to the Lord Jesus who has promised to be with you all the days…. Since h keeps all of His promises He must he there.

    Randy

    Like

  3. Hi Mike and Karla,

    I have to tell you, I’ve been reading the blog since I first heard about it from Nina in November. The Lord has really been laying on my heart to write to you but I’m not sure what it is I’m to write.

    Today as I was driving to work I heard Stephen Curtis Chapman sing “Be still and know that I am God.” I guess what God is trying to tell me is that even though the times seem rough God is with you through this as I’m sure you know.

    Sometimes our days get so busy we forget about God and maybe thats what he wanted me to hear.

    Through your blog and the people that respond to it I’m reminded to take time out to spend with Him.

    Thanks for your efforts to keep everyone informed and for sharing what God is doing for you. May God Bless you and your family through all of this.

    Cindy

    Like

  4. Karla,
    Bless your heart girl. I am so sorry all this has been happening. As always, you are in my prayers. Will lift the kids up also. Hold on strong. Will pray that God would keep these set backs from happening, so that Mike and you can finally go home and be with the family. Love and miss you. Kathy

    Like

  5. Karla and Mike: After calling your Mom, I have found the web page and am checking daily to keep track of your progress. My heart just goes out to you both as you work so hard to regain your health, Mike. I have you on our prayer list at both my quilting group and my Sunday School class so you are not “wanting” for intercessary prayer! –And we are really good Prayer Warriors!Just a word of encouragement.=Max was so very ill in 1985 at age 47 and that was 25 years ago now he is doing so well and we are so thankful for every day we have had together.–so keep up the faith and continue love each other. Love, Darlene

    Like

  6. Oh goodness – this takes me back to the Ativan-Phenobarbital-Nembutal days of our daughter. She was on all three at a time. The PB was at lethal levels, so they had to give Nembutal, but Ativan was her “drug of choice” and the only thing that would calm her grand mal seizing. I am praying in earnest for you all because I know how horrifying it all can be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

