Finally, A Decent Night’s Sleep

After all that went on last night, Mike was finally able to get a good night’s sleep.  He went to sleep shortly after 10 and didn’t wake up till it was medicine time.  It looks like we have a reasonable idea as to why the seizures occurred yesterday.  Mike’s dilantin levels were very low, probably due to the antibiotics affecting it somehow.  They have put him on a different medication for seizures and a very high dose of dilantin today.  He has had occupational therapy and is at physical therapy right now, and everything appears to be going well.

Dr. Meyer was in this morning and was very encouraging.  He said that he goes longer between visits at this point so that he can see improvement, and he definitely did this morning.  This was in spite of Mike having seizures last night, followed by lots of medication.  He was also pleased to see the movement in his arm and leg.  Dr. Meyer is now making comments about ending up  excellent function in both limbs, which is really a strong word from him.  He also said that hopefully Mike will be able to be entirely off seizure medication after a year or so.  Mike was also happy about that.

A friend of our posted the following verse on the blog, and this is what was going through my mind last night.

James 1:2-6 2 Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, 3 for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. 4 And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. 5 If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. 6 But let him ask in faith,

That’s at least part of what this whole ordeal is about, perfecting our faith.  And hopefully the faith of our children and other family members and friends and who knows who else.  So we’ll just  keep trying to count it all joy!

12 thoughts on “Finally, A Decent Night’s Sleep”

  1. Hello Mike & Karla: I have been keeping up with Mike’s progress thanks to you, Karla, posting updates on this website. Thank you for having a way for us here in our community of Earlham to respond.
    I have a Bible verse for Mike which jumped out at me this morning. I felt that I was supposed to share it. Psalm 62:5 & 6 Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
    Thank you, Mike, Karla, and family, for being a great example of faith. You have made me want to be better for Christ. God’s blessings to you all.

    Like

  2. Mike and Karla,

    I was sorry to hear about the episode yesterday and I know that these things do become discouraging, however from your morning post it does sound like things are improved for that we do give glory to our God. Recently been spend time reflecting on Psalm 91 and the importance of dwelling in the shelter of the Most High. I know from personal experience that when times are tough that my only recourse is to just stay close to my God for in Him and Him alone I find my refuge. May God encourage your hearts today. We (Paula and I) thank God for you and pray for you daily for healing, encouragement, and strength for what He has in store for you. God bless. With all our love in Christ Jesus, Bob & Paula

    Like

  3. Dear Karla and Mike,
    Your message this morning is very encouraging for Mike. Mom called last night and we were saddened to hear of the seizures and medicine problems.
    Your folks were over Monday night – think they needed some respite but it was a men’s night: 5 vs. 0!!! We are checking your blog several times a day and really appreciate your updates.
    We continue to pray several times a day for renewed strength, good therapy and healing for Mike, and rest and peace for your little body, Karla. Love,
    John & Sue

    Like

  4. I am encouraged to hear that Mike was able to sleep well finally. It is my prayer that he will find peace, strength and joy even in the midst of all this. God bless you.

    Like

  5. Being an AVM survivor I read your blog daily and follow your progress and set backs. You are doing wonderful!! Dilantin is great when it is effective, but when your levels are too low you will seize and when too high you will fall down. I am now on my 4th seizure medication in 12 years.

    The speech thing is the most frustrating and will come back as you will use it all the time. We played cherades all the time because I couldn’t find the words for what I wanted to say- now I teach on a daily basis!! Writing was also difficult as I am a lefty and my AVM was on the right side. I have gotten back everything but my vision in the bottom of my left eye and my propioception (?? can’t spell) on the left (I don’t know where my limbs are if I can’t see them). I can use them because I have muscle memory. In the big picture of life, not that big of a deal- it took 14 months of rehab and lots of determination. Just know it takes a LONG time. Everything will work its way back slowly!! Expect miracles- just expect them in due time:)

    Like

  6. Wow!! We had no idea that this was going on in your lives! Thanks to Kirk Johnson, we have now been able to read about the journey you have been on. We will continue to lift up your family in prayer, to our most awesome God! Know that we love you both dearly and will look forward to hearing more as you continue down the path of healing and recovery:)

    Like

  7. Karla and Mike,

    We are encouraged most to see God’s amazing presence in your lives and what you’re going through now. Although it also not uncommon for the kids to see either Paul or I do a happy dance when we get good news. I know, not a pretty sight but we rejoice with you!

    I spent some time in Isaiah last weekend. There is so much there. Isaiah 43:1->
    But now, this is what the Lord says –
    He who created you, O Jacob (or Mike)
    He who formed you, O Israel:
    Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
    I have summoned you by name; you are Mine.
    When you pass through the waters (or surgery, seizures and therapy),
    I will be with you;
    and when you pass through the rivers,
    they will not sweep over you……
    Since you are precious and honored in My sight,
    and because I love you…
    so that others may hear and say, “It is true.”…
    “You are My witnesses,” declares the Lord, “that I am God.” …
    “Forget the former things;
    do not dwell on the past.
    See, I am doing a new thing!
    Now it springs up…

    Isaiah 44: 2-3, 7-8

    He also says that the names Mike and Karla are inscribed upon his very palms. Not written in pen or marker but chiseled into God Almighty’s hands. That’s so cool!

    We continue to pray. Hugs, Adele

    Like

  8. Hey, Mike!

    I’m glad to hear that you are making progress. I have been praying for you and your family.

    Ivan Helmus

    Like

  9. Mike and Karla-We are following your progress carefully each day. So thankful that things are going better. I’m praying that God would give you increasing strength day by day on your right side. It’s very clear that God provides grace that is sufficient for all things. Hang tough! TC

    PS-thanks for these updates, we don’t want to bug you, but it’s great to follow what’s going on.

    Like

  10. Greetings from Grinnell, Pastor Mike and Karla;
    Your dear sister, Bev, gave us a report last night at prayer meeting. She had just returned from visiting you up there. and told of the ups and downs of your recovery, but it appears the ups outweigh the downs! For all you’ve been through, I think you are doing remarkably well, and James 1 certainly captures what the Lord is doing. We just need to keep asking for wisdom, trusting His hand, and enduring with patience, which will result in the “crown of life”…Jm. 1:12.
    I like the words to an old song I heard George Beverly Shea sing when I was a child…”I know not what the future holds, but I know Who holds the future; its a secret known only to Him”!….I think Deut. 29:29 is the foundation for that truth.
    Have I shared yet my favorite quote from Warren Wiersbe? (I share it so much with people in trials, I forget who all I’ve told). On a plaque here in my study I often look up and see these words…”When God permits His children to go through the furnace, He keeps His eye on the clock and His hand on the thermostat. His loving heart knows how much and how long.” That is a very comforting thought to me, and I hope it is a blessing to you as well.
    We will continue to pray for you and look forward, because for the Christian, “the best is always yet to come”!

    Prayerfully yours,
    Don Johnston

    Like

  11. Hello Pastor Mike and Karla,
    I am Katie Koch’s roommate. I just wanted you to know that you all are in our thoughts and prayers. Only a few minutes ago, my other roommate and I prayed together for all of you.

    Krystle Knudson

    Like

  12. That is the exact same verse that my hubby clung to when our daughter was on her deathbed. It is true that you come out on the other side a totally different person…with many scars, unfortunately, but in time He heals them and you start to see why you went through the trial.

    Like

Leave a Reply

