Back to Surgery

Just a brief update.  Mike was up at 6 this morning and had a brief seizure.  This was followed by a longer seizure.  They gave as much ativan as they could and moved him back up to neuro ICU.  Somewhere in that process they discovered that his blood pressure was low and the heart was not working right.  The ultrasound showed blood clots in two parts of his heart and something else in a third.  They think that the filter may have broken loose and that is the unknown item.

I am posting this at about 11 a.m. on February 26th, and they have just taken him into surgery.  If it all goes routinely, it will be 4-6 hours long.  They will remove the clots, the other thing, and fix what they think is a hole in his heart, if need be.  The doctors use words like unstable, critical, and high risk.  Not good.  Our optimistic Dr. Fogleson said that this is an extremely serious situation.

We know that God has this entire situation in His control.  We ask that you would lift Mike and the surgeons up to our God, the father of our Lord Jesus Christ.

34 thoughts on “Back to Surgery”

  1. Mike & Karla,

    I’ve kept up to date with your blog and shared your prayer needs with my network of intercessors (first name basis only). Be assured that people all over the globe are lifting you and your family up before the Father this very moment. The glory of God is shining through your journey of brokenness and trial.

    Jesus . . . calm the fears of this family. Protect them from the attempts of the Enemy to use the fear and anxiety of this moment to assault your goodness and power. Unleash your Divine healing power into the OR and beyond. Thank you for your Church that stands with them in presence and in prayer. Amen.

    Like

  2. Karla, we are praying for you all. The church is praying as well, and the teens in our youth group have prayed, too. Our God is a very big God, and He is holding you all in His hand. Aside from the obvious, we pray you truly feel yourselves being uplifted to the Lord by so many, and the love behind it.

    Like

  3. Karla,
    Thank you for calling. We are lifting up Mike and the surgeons as I write you, and have sent this along to the prayer chains in Missouri and here in Colorado that have been praying for you all through this whole thing. We are trusting that Mike’s entire ordeal will be glorifying to our Lord, and we trust that He is holding your precious family in His strong, loving hands. We love you!
    TC and Brenda

    Like

  4. Karla, Praying for you & Mike,the surgeons & all involved in Mike’s surgery & care. I have activated the prayer chain in our church here in Malvern. Love to you and your family. Joan

    Like

  5. Karla,
    I’ve been following the blog and praying for you and we hve tried to keep ourCentral Distirct Pastors up to date. Be assured of the prayers and concerns of so many around our district and especially rest assured of the love and presence of Christ.
    Cal

    Like

  6. Mike,
    I said a prayer for you today. You are in the hands of the Great Physician and He is a very caring and loving One. I have been keeping my sister, Marilyn, updated and she is also praying for you.
    Pat

    Like

  7. Dear Karla,
    Mom phoned us the sad news – We are praying for all of you and the surgeons, and also praying for safe travel for your folks and the boys to be with you.
    Love,
    John & Sue

    Like

  8. Oh Karla,
    My heart is breaking even as I am praying and asking others to pray. May one of the pastors who know and love Mike and you get there to stand beside you. Oh God, let there be a friend to be there for Karla as You stand between Mike and death. You are a great and mighty God and this hasn’t surprised You nor is it difficult for You to guild the doctors and cause Mike to live regardless is risks or odds…sorry to break into prayer. I love you both. Donna Haxton

    Like

  9. We continue to be in prayer for you and your precious family. May our Heavenly Father’s peace that surpasses all understanding surround you as He holds you in His loving arms.

    Love and prayers,
    Steve, Peggy, Beth, Joe, and Ben Klinefelter

    Like

  10. Karla,

    We are praying for you and for Mike and the surgeons. May God give you a sense of His peace. With love in our Savior’s name. Bob & Paula

    Like

  11. GOD HAS A POSITIVE ANSWER:

    YOU SAY
    GOD SAYS
    BIBLE VERSES

    You say: ‘It’s impossible’
    God says: All things are possible
    (Luke 18:27)

    You say: ‘I’m too tired’
    God says: I will give you rest
    (Matthew 11:28-30)

    You say: ‘Nobody really loves me’
    God says: I love you
    (John 3:1 6 & John 3:34 )

    You say: ‘I can’t go on’
    God says: My grace is sufficient
    (II Corinthians 12:9 & Psalm 91:15)

    You say: ‘I can’t figure things out’
    God says: I will direct your steps
    (Proverbs 3:5- 6)

    You say: ‘I can’t do it’
    God says: You can do all things
    (Philippians 4:13)

    You say: ‘I’m not able’
    God says: I am able
    (II Corinthians 9:8)

    You say: ‘It’s not worth it’
    God says: It will be worth it
    (Roman 8:28 )

    You say: ‘I can’t forgive myself’
    God says: I Forgive you
    (I John 1:9 & Romans 8:1)

    You say: ‘I can’t manage’
    God says: I will supply all your needs
    (Philippians 4:19)

    You say: ‘I’m afraid’
    God says: I have not given you a spirit of fear
    (II Timothy 1:7)

    You say: ‘I’m always worried and frustrated’
    God says: Cast all your cares on ME
    (I Peter 5:7)

    You say: ‘I’m not smart enough’
    God says: I give you wisdom
    (I Corinthians 1:30)

    You say: ‘I feel all alone’
    God says: I will never leave you or forsake you
    (Hebrews 13:5)

    HE IS THERE!!!!!!
    HE HAS ALL THE ANSWERS…..
    WE TRUST AND PRAY!!!

    Like

  12. Karla and family – Praying for steady hands for the doctor, steady heartbeat for Mike, steady and alert anesthesiologist, Praying to the God who daily bears our burdens.

    Colleen

    Like

  13. Dearest Karla!
    Can it only be three hours since we spoke? The minutes seem so slow. Yet God impresses upon me the ‘waiting on Him’ process! May you sense the uplifting of the Lord via the masses of saints interceding on you and Mike’s behalf!
    ‘Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!” Ps. 27:14
    We love you both!
    Karol (for Terry, too)

    Like

  14. Dear Mike and Karla,

    Janet has alerted us to your need and our church in NY and sister churches in MS are praying for you all at this very moment. May God in His infinite wisdom provide grace and mercy and guide the surgeons’ hands, and allow the healing touch of the Lord.

    Much love,
    Marge and Ed and Browncroft Baptist Church Rochester, NY

    Like

  15. We just retruned from overseas and are praying for Mike and his current situation. We are asking for complete recovery but along with Mike we are happy being under the complete sovereignty of God.

    Like

  16. Who will separate us from the love of Christ? Will tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword (or surgery)? Just as it is written, “For your sake we are being put to death all day long; we were considered as sheep to be slaughtered.” But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, (nor clots) nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.
    Romans 8:35-39

    Like

  17. Karla
    At noon today, I read your morning update about Mike’s need for surgery. Prayer Vine at First Presbyterian-St Cloud was immediately alerted…about the need for very specific prayer.
    Larry and I are thanking God…that you are trusting Him. And that He has you all in His perfect, loving care.
    Ruby Ralston Olson

    Like

  18. Mike and Karla and children,

    We are praying and praying for your strength and trusting in Him for all of you.

    We love you,
    Bill and Barbara

    Like

  19. Family and friends have been calling, e-mailing and texting all day. You are all being lifted up in prayer! WE LOVE YOU.

    Like

  20. Karla,

    I have been thinking about you all day. I was so happy to hear that surgery went well. I will continue to keep you and Mike in my prayers.

    Michelle Crabbs

    Like

  21. Sending our hugs and prayers. We pray that you will be comforted during this difficult time.

    Patricia and family

    Like

  22. Hugs and prayers to all of you-I do wish I could be there in person
    But thanks for computers and your keeping us updated
    Mike and your family are on the prayer chain at Heartland
    You continue to be in my prayers
    Love
    Aunt Barb

    Like

Leave a Reply

