Friday Evening Post

I thought I was going to be witty and call this the Saturday Evening Post, but then I realized it is only Friday!  That tells you what the past couple of days have been like.Mike had a good day.  He got off several meds and had several tubes removed.  He is still quite groggy, so speech is difficult.  He also had ultrasounds of all his limbs to check for blood clots.  So far no new ones have developed, but this is a risk.  They removed any unnecessary tubes and ivs in hopes of reducing the likelihood in those areas.  He is also on blood thinners which increases the risk of bleeding in the brain, but hopefully is far enough removed from surgery that this won’t happen.  We are not out of the woods yet, but we are closer than yesterday.

I apparantly did not get the gravity of the situation on Thursday morning.  I know blood clots in the heart and lungs are very dangerous and can be fatal, but I just figured, we know they are there, just remove them.  Dr. Fogleson was almost gleeful to see Mike today and said that he really did not think he would be seeing him today.  We are grateful that God chose to answer all of our prayers in the way we wanted Him to this time.

Dr. Fogleson is the doctor we see most often.  If anything happens and he is near, he is there immediately.  We have repeatedly made it clear that many people are praying for him as well when they pray for Mike.  Today he said that he has even prayed for Mike.  I’m not sure that is a common thing for him, but we are developing a good relationship with him and who knows what God might want to do there.

It’s time for bed.  I am hoping for a full 8 hours tonight, maybe even more!  I am praying that Mike will get good rest and have an even better day tomorrow.

9 thoughts on “Friday Evening Post”

  1. Karla,
    We will pray with you and for you as long as you and Mike are on this journey. God is doing tremendous things through all your trials and we may never know the full extent of His work, this side of glory.

    Thank you for sharing your life with us through your posts each day. I’m looking forward to the day when Mike and Dale can compare their open heart surgery scars!

    Much love, Lynne (aka Nurse Ratchett) and Dale

    Like

  2. Karla – Thanks for the post. We like to pray accurately, if we can! So glad you talked with the doctor about prayer. Yes, we’re praying for Mike and for all of his caregivers — especially you! Hope you get/got some good sleep.
    Raising you up in prayer,
    Tom

    Like

  3. Hi Karla and Mike,
    Our computer is working off and on during our travels, but we were grateful to catch up on your blog tonight. Thanks so much for your hard work in keeping us posted–and thanks to Mike for his hard work in dictating his message. My heart aches and rejoices at the same time–I’m guessing you know all about that.

    We’re coming boldly to the throne of grace to obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

    With love,
    Joe and Diane

    Like

  4. Dear Karla, We are praying for Mike, you, your kids, and your family as you are all dealing with so much stress.
    We hope you and Mike both get some much needed sleep tonight.
    Love,
    John & Sue

    P.S. We really appreciate your blog updates.

    Like

  5. I am waiting hear about how the night went-praying for your whole family-everyone is affected
    Were you able to sleep at all? I know how difficult that is

    Like

  6. Good Morning Karla,

    My prayer partner and I continue to pray for you, Mike and the doctors and nurses to know how best to take care of Mike. We know God is giving you the strength you need – and will continue to do so.

    Praise God for bringing all of you this far. I still refuse to believe He will not heal Mike back to full health. What a huge witness Mike and you are going to have for God’s glory.

    Love to you,
    Barb
    P.S. When you can give Mike a hug for me and tell him I love him!!!!

    Like

  7. Dear Mike and Karla,

    I thought of the two of your repeatedly yesterday while walking around a track — I do some Scripture memory while I walk or ride stationary bike. Yesterday one of the texts I was reviewing was (and I am writing from memory now — you will have to take my word for it, but I am not peaking at the written text as I write,

    If your law had not been my delight, I would have perished in my affliction…’ (Psalm 119:93)

    You are certainly surrounded by affliction, but I am so thankful that for years it has been evident of you that ‘the instruction of God has been your delight.’

    Looking forward to the Saturday Evening Post,

    Randy

    Like

Leave a Reply

