I Missed the Saturday Evening Post

Here we are at another Sunday morning.  I guess I missed my chance at a good tagline with the Saturday Evening Post.  I needed to get to the house I’m staying at and get some laundry done.  For some reason I had no clean clothes left!

This is our third Sunday here and neurologically we are essentially back to where we were two weeks ago.  Mike is quite frustrated with the pain from the heart surgery and the lack of movement.  He keeps saying, “I lost three weeks,” which, true to male form, is a slight exaggeration, but difficult to handle nonetheless.  He did not realize it was Sunday, and got rather emotional when I told him that.  I don’t have the heart to tell him that it is March now.

The cardiac surgeon says that Mike is making good progress.  He is off all of the heart medications and will have the last two big tubes pulled today.  The only IV medications left are heparin and antibiotics.  Everything else is taken by pill.  I am hoping that once those tubes are out he will be much more comfortable and start talking more.

I had a difficult time getting to sleep last night.  The weight of what really happened on Thursday really hit me yesterday.  I knew the seriousness of blood clots in the heart and lungs, but I thought, “We’re at Mayo Clinic.  Just get them out of there and he’ll be fine.”  I did not understand how blood clots go between the heart and lungs and out to the body.  No one knew how many clots there were.  I did not understand the size of the clot in Mike’s heart.  I did not understand that time was critical.  Thankfully Dr. Sundt was able to do the surgery immediately.  In retrospect, I am thankful that I did not fully comprehend what was going on and see that as a mercy from God.  It was difficult enough to endure the wait without having full understanding.

A former pastor of ours e-mailed me on Thursday during the surgery.  He said that he was approaching the throne of God on my behalf.  In the midst of everything, I was quite moved that someone was praying that Mike would survive for my sake and my children’s sake.  As I thought about it, that really was my thinking as well.  It was hard for me to think about the possibility of life without Mike.  I certainly do not like seeing Mike in all this pain or the frustration he is experiencing.  But I am thankful that God saw fit to answer this prayer in the way we wanted, all the while knowing that the real reason is that this is how He will be most glorified.  God gets the glory and I get the joy…of having my husband hold my hand, tell me he loves me, and having him here another day.

16 thoughts on “I Missed the Saturday Evening Post”

  1. I am so glad to hear of Mike’s progress and your insights. Isn’t it so good to know our maker and redeemer. Continued blessings, Edie

    Like

  2. Dearest Karla,

    I cannot imagine how hard this is and what you are going through.

    But I too have honestly been praying for Mike’s healing so that we can keep him here with his earthly family, extended family and church and to see all his children grow up. I also have been praising God and thanking him for his healing. I TRULY BELIEVE MIKE IS GOING TO COME BACK TO HIS TOTAL GOOD HEALTH! I REFUSE TO THINK ANYTHING ELSE! I KNOW GOD KEEPS HIS PROMISES AND NEVER, NEVER FORSAKES US!! He is going to do that for you and Mike and the children too!!!

    Love to you,
    Barbara

    Like

  3. Karla,

    I can’t tell you how much your efforts to keep us posted are appreciated. Hearing you talk about how Mike is able to tell you he loves you feels my eyes with tears. I wish I could suffer a day for Mike to help him. I know the best thing I can do for Mike is to pray and I am doing that every day – for Mike, for you, for each of your kids. Once you are both able to be back in Des Moines, you’ll have this huuuge wonderful community of friends and family there to help you in any way that you want.

    I am traveling back from Mexico today. We spent some time this past week doing a clothing distribution to a poor community and helped to deliver 100 bibles. While doing that, I felt that Mike was there with us, giving to others as he always does.

    Remain strong, God is there for you and he will bring Mike back to full health, I am sure of that.

    Larry

    Like

  4. Karla,

    I too believe that God spared you the full extent of what could have transpired Thursday morning. How good is our God that He protects His children that way. And now that you DO know the full extent, you are able to praise God for bringing Mike (and you) through this.

    What an awesome God we serve.

    Our love and prayers to you and Mike,

    Lynne and Dale

    Like

  5. No predictions of what God is going to do, just appreciation for what He is doing and what He is yet to going to do. Thank you for being a Proverbs 31 wife Karla. We all “rise up and call you blessed” as your husband and children do. God’s grace is still amazing, in that we find our hope. Still praying in Guthrie Center.

    Like

  6. Karla, I think we sometimes forget that it isn’t just Mike going through all of this~it is all of your family, both immediate and extended. You are a very strong person, yet you have your emotional limitations as well. What a personal message you sent in this latest blog. I pray for all of you, and we too, expect a full 100% comback for Mike! Do tell him we are all pulling for him and that we love him~just as we do all of you.

    Janet

    Like

  7. Karla…you have been given a great Mercy! I pray that no more clots will come, kidneys, blood pressure will stabilize and swelling will abate. It was good for us to share in this prayer need…and we will continue to do so. God holds you in the Hallow of His Hand! Take care,

    Karin Livingston (for David too)

    Like

  8. Dear Karla,
    I am so thankful for this blog, because I truely count on the daily progress and prayers we need to lift up. Also, when you wrote about why you continue to send these updates, was because you know that so many people have been praying for all of you, and they too, need to be kept up to date. So thank you for taking the time even though you are tired at the end of the day. I so wish I could do more for you. I love you and have my prayer warriers praying for you and your family. Give Mike a hug for me, and tell him that I am praying for strength and healing each day. Love you. Kathy

    Like

  9. Dear Karla and Mike: Just a note to tell you that Fairview Church joins the army of prayer warriors praying for Mike’s recovery and for strength and comfort for you and the family. Remember the Scripture that tells us “to come boldly to the throne of grace in our times of need.” We join the countless many who are bold in prayers today and in the days to come.
    Ernie and Joyce and Fairview congregation.

    Like

  10. Dear Mike and Karla, We are in constant prayer for you and your family. The people of St. John UMC in Atlanta are also praying. We will stay close for updates. Three inches of snow blanketed Atlanta today–for us this is a great joy. May God continue to blanket you with His grace and strength!

    Brent, Laurie and Hunter

    Like

  11. Mike & Carla,
    We love you both – please be assured of our prayers for you! Thanks for the wonderful updates Carla – you have done a great job of helping us know how to pray.
    Jordon & Barbara Korell

    Like

  12. Dear Karla,
    Our pastor’s wife said when we told her all that had happened that the surgeon and heart doctor did not just happen to be there. We all know he is an awesome God. Our church prays along with us.
    You have so much strength and we really appreciate all the updates, our friends who do not attend the park church but go elsewhere ask for an update every day.
    Tell Mike that we all love him, you and your family and hold all of you up in prayer. We read all the responses and are thrilled with all the people who are sending up prayers.
    You do a wonderful job of writing but we know Mike will be anxious to send his own personal notes.
    Love to all.
    John and Geri

    Like

  13. Dear Karla,
    It was so good for me and Shirley to see the two of you yesterday — when I woke at 3:30am this morning, as I almost always do on Sunday night/ Monday morning I thought instantly of Mike and now had a mental picture of him and the room and where you sit — I have a better sense of what you are both experiencing — I know I have no idea really, but I do have a better sense than I had. You have entered the vast sea of the worlds physical/ emotional suffering and many like myself are among those calling out encouraging things while we stand safely on shore (at least for the moment safely on shore).

    I will continue praying; I would say this ‘Mike is made for rehab — if the Lord will keep him free from clots and like set backs the perseverance and drive that the Lord have built into Mike over the years will soon be shining.

    O Karla I with there were some magic words that could fix everything NOW. But it is actually better than that — you are in Jesus hand and He is making you holy.

    Randy

    Like

  14. “Be still, my soul: The Lord is on your side.
    Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain;
    Leave to thy God to order and provide;
    In every change He faithful will remain
    Be still, my soul: Thy best, Thy heavenly friend
    Through thorny ways leads to a joyful end.”

    Like

  15. I, too, have been praying on behalf of your children. I only know Luke and Ben, since they have been involved in FCA and other school events. I have really come to appreciate them and their commitment to Jesus. I certainly want them to have many more years with their father Mike.

    Like

  16. Your sentence right here is truly a gift of God.

    “I am thankful that I did not fully comprehend what was going on and see that as a mercy from God.”

    I truly believe God’s gift is allowing us to be ignorant of the brevity of situation so that we can be sane.

    We place our Ebenezer stone – “Thus Far God has guided.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

