The Sun is Shining in Rochester

I am sitting here in Mike’s latest room with the sun streaming in the windows.  He was awake when I arrived at 6 a.m. and wanted the curtains opened by 7.  I just figured out that this is the tenth room he has been in at St. Mary’s Hospital.  Of course, that includes just a few hours in the first rehab room and a couple hours in the neuro room before the surgery to remove blood clots.  Mike loves the sunlight, and the charge nurse here was kind enough to offer us the choice of rooms.  I, on the other hand, get migraines from sunlight, so I may have to get out my sunglasses today!

From a cardiac point of view, yesterday had tremendous progress.  All the tubes were removed, as well as most of the iv lines.  I think he’s down to one in each arm.  He told me that the removal of the tubes that were draining in his chest was the most painful thing he has ever experienced.  I, of course, leave the room during any procedure that is remotely painful.  Cardiac is still saying that he can go to rehab soon, but neuro will take him back if rehab is not ready for him quite yet.

He is talking quite a bit more this morning, which is surprising given the inadequate amount of sleep he got last night!  Dr. Fogleson informed us this morning that Dr. Keegan, the anesthesioligist/critical care doctor, did an amazing job keeping Mike alive while they figured out what was going on.  Apparently he arrived immediately at the rehab floor and followed Mike through to surgery.

Mike just asked me how it got to be March and what happened over the past few days.  I’ve told him parts of it several times, but he really grasped it this time.  He has absolutely no recollection of anything that happened last Thursday, which is just as well.  It is a very overwhelming experience for both of us!

The encouragement of others has also been overwhelming.  Yesterday, the family of a friend of Benj’s came up just to encourage him and me and to take him home.  I knew of this family, but did not really know them.  They had been through a serious health crisis and just wanted to encourage us.  Amazing!  We had friends stop by from Sioux Falls “on their way to Des Moines” for the E Free Central District Conference.  Hardly a direct route!  Another couple is skipping District Conference to be with me.  Wow!  And then there are the family and friends that braved a serious winter storm to get up here last Thursday.  I really can’t express how much that helps.  God continues to be good!

10 thoughts on “The Sun is Shining in Rochester”

  1. Hi Karla – I do not know you. Sandquists have made our church prayer chain aware of your prayer needs, and I have been following. I just wanted to tell you there is a church here in waterloo praying for you, Mike, and your family. I also wanted to say that I “see” got work through you even in these emails – the one where you said (I think last one or the one before) that you are just thankful for one more day for him to be alive, hold your hand, tell you I love you – your marriage is a witness to all! (And a reminder for some of us to not take for granted good days). Whenever I pray for Mike’s healing, I ask the Lord for a special grace for you – grace for today… and grace for Mike for today – just today… face the many tomrorows as they come. I feel like I know you… thanks for keeping us posted…. I will keep praying.

    Like

  2. As the sun is shining, remember The Son is shining on you and He will be there each moment.
    Pastor Quintin prayed for Mike and you at Valley Church yesterday.
    We’ll continue to lift all of you up to the Lord in prayer.

    Like

  3. How bright that sun must seem against the backdrop of everything that has happened! So thankful for all that God is doing in and through you guys as this trial unfolds. Thanks for sharing your lives with us. We will continue to pray.

    The Bates

    Like

  4. Hi Karla,

    So glad Mike was up and wanting to see the sunshine. We continue our prayers every day and also our Sunday School class and Mike is on the prayer chain at our church too – and has been for some time.

    We also thank you for keeping us updated on everything. Bill and I look every day to see how things are going.

    God is good! He is healing Mike and I just know they will have him up and in thearpy again soon!

    Love to you both,
    Bill and Barbara

    Like

  5. Hey Karla,
    Thanks for the updates – we look for them every day!

    We are praying for you all, and we have our SSchool class praying for you here in Kazoo. Stay strong and know that your faith will get you through this. You guys are such a blessing to all of us!

    Tell Mike we love him! – we love you all!

    The Ropp’s

    Like

  6. Mike and Karla, some of the cops in the metro and around Iowa have also been praying for all of you as have Kristi and I. (There are 56 of us at last count on Christian email loop where one of the guys shares a devotional each day.) We just want you guys to know you are touching lives that you never imagined! Your comments about holding hands and saying I love you was a strong reminder to us.

    Love in Christ,

    Kerry Northway

    PS, below is a copy of some of what we have been sharing about you all and what God is doing!!!

    Good Day All,

    Happy March!! Spring is just around the corner and I for one can’t wait!! Today’s reading is from Pastor Mike Evan’s wife’s blog…it is a strong testimony to the strength and resilience of our Lord! He has showed them His love even when things are seemingly at their worst. Hold hands, tell each other you love one another OFTEN! Don’t wait for times like this to show your love! He shows this everyday..sunrises, your child’s smile, a friend’s help, the Lords love.

    Please continue prayer for Pastor Mike and his family and for Craig Phinney and his wife Shirley as they prepare for Craig’s surgery. I know they too will need all the love and prayers we can give as it will be a long haul for them also!!! If there is anyone we can pray for, please pass it along so that as a band of believers we can share the love of Christ with as many as possible!!!

    Stay Safe,

    Bill

    Bill, here is one that I hesitated to send about Pastor Mike then it struck me that it might be one of the most important ones. Karla, Mike’s wife ends the update with the simple statement about continuing to have her husband to hold her hand and tell her he loves her. I am pretty sure that most, it not all us cops take that simple act for granted from time to time. This was a great reminder to me. Use your judgment about passing it on.

    Kerry

    Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device from U.S. Cellular

    ________________________________

    From: “Mike Evans’ blog”
    Date: Mon, 02 Mar 2009 02:03:13 +0000
    Subject: Pastor Mike Evans’ Blog

    Pastor Mike Evans’ Blog

    Like

  7. Karla and Mike,

    We are friends of Lisa and Shannon Sandquist. We have been following your blog and praying for you. We live in Minneapolis.

    The words from Psalm 46:6 were quickened to my heart as I lifted you…”He uttered His voice, the earth melted.” What a powerful God we serve! His words…His commands…His directions…bring forth huge results.

    May He speak peace to your heart and healing to your bodies. Be encouraged…the Lord is at hand.
    Carol and Carl Voelker

    Like

  8. Hi, Mike and Karla,
    Praise the Lord!! We have been following your blog and are so encouraged by Mike’s progress. Our whole family is praying for you. Your witness to God’s work is an inspiration to all of us, Karla.
    May God continue to watch over you.

    Like

  9. Hi Mike and Karla and family – I love hearing the news – good or bad – but especially love the good news! It’s wonderful! My daughter, Kelcey, went bowling with a bunch of kids (Ben included) a couple weeks ago and they had a good time so hopefully it was a good distraction for him. :0) Can you post somewhere a good place to send cards or well wishes if that is a possibility?
    Think of you all every day. Angie

    Like

  10. Karla and Mike,

    I get a devotional every day from blueletterbible.org, usually they are from Charles Spurgeon, as was this today:

    I have chosen thee in the furnace of affliction.–Isaiah 48:10

    Comfort thyself, tried believer, with this thought: God saith, “I have chosen thee in the furnace of affliction.” Does not the word come like a soft shower, assuaging the fury of the flame? Yea, is it not an asbestos armour, against which the heat hath no power? Let affliction come–God has chosen me. Poverty, thou mayst stride in at my door, but God is in the house already, and He has chosen me. Sickness, thou mayst intrude, but I have a balsam ready–God has chosen me. Whatever befalls me in this vale of tears, I know that He has “chosen” me. If, believer, thou requirest still greater comfort, remember that you have the Son of Man with you in the furnace. In that silent chamber of yours, there sitteth by your side One whom thou hast not seen, but whom thou lovest; and ofttimes when thou knowest it not, He makes all thy bed in thy affliction, and smooths thy pillow for thee. Thou art in poverty; but in that lovely house of thine the Lord of life and glory is a frequent visitor. He loves to come into these desolate places, that He may visit thee. Thy friend sticks closely to thee. Thou canst not see Him, but thou mayst feel the pressure of His hands. Dost thou not hear His voice? Even in the valley of the shadow of death He says, “Fear not, I am with thee; be not dismayed, for I am thy God.” Remember that noble speech of Caesar: “Fear not, thou carriest Caesar and all his fortune.” Fear not, Christian; Jesus is with thee. In all thy fiery trials, His presence is both thy comfort and safety. He will never leave one whom He has chosen for His own. “Fear not, for I am with thee,” is His sure word of promise to His chosen ones in the “furnace of affliction.” Wilt
    thou not, then, take fast hold of Christ, and say–

    “Through floods and flames, if Jesus lead, I’ll follow where He goes.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

