Wednesday, March 4

I tried to sleep in, but for some reason I wake up at 5 every morning.  Not a great time to get up, for a night person!

Mike did not sleep well at all last night.  He was up coughing much of the night.  So, he is very tired today.  It will be interesting to see how rehab goes on so little sleep.  We have not seen the cardiac service yet today, so I am not sure where we are with the anticoagulent.  He cannot go to rehab until he is off of the IV anticoagulent.

We keep finding out more tidbits about last week’s surgery.  Yesterday we were told that only two places in the country perform the surgery Mike had last week, here and somewhere in San Diego.  We asked Dr. Fogleson about it and he said that he really did not think Mike would survive surgery.  I know I’ve said this before, but it is very overwhelming to think about!

On a very bright note, Jared finally decided to talk to me on the phone last night!  It had been twelve days.  He didn’t talk very long, but I was glad he did.  Elisabeth asked when I was coming home.  I told her that I was not planning it any more.  When Dad is better I’ll just show up.  She was okay with that.

It sounds like Mike is ready for me to go back in there, so I’m off.  Thanks for the continued prayer!

11 thoughts on “Wednesday, March 4”

  1. Dear Mike and Karla,
    I can’t believe I haven’t sent a word from John Calvin yet after all this time. I was comforted by this word earlier today (preparing for a discussion group that meets tomorrow).

    “…For whomever the Lord has adopted and deemed worthy of his fellowship ought to prepare themselves for a hard, toilsome, and unquiet life, crammed with very many are various kinds of evil…”

    What a line — our lives a crammed with various types of evil. As to physical suffering and its emotional trauma I call to you from teh safe shore. As things like ‘my daughter’ I am instantly swept out to sea. Calvin says to us all, this is to be expected in this cursed place and God molds us by these painful trials — this is the catastrophic normal path of the people of God.

    Romans 5:3-5 3 More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, 4 and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, 5 and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

    We love you both and pray for perseverance for you and the Lord will step in and restore!

    Randy

    Like

  2. We just wanted to let you know that the Southwest Iowa relatives are keeping you guys in our prayers and thoughts. We are following the blog as well as getting updates from Marilyn. Keep up the good work. God does work in mysterious ways and we do not know what those ways are. Keep smiling. 🙂

    Like

  3. Mike and Karla,
    Please know that I am praying for you daily and am anxious every day to read your blog. I am truly impressed with you, Karla, to continue to keep us imformed with all you’ve gone through with the seriousness of Mike’s illness. You both are a true example of what the POWER OF PRAYER and faith can do! God bless you both.

    Pat

    Like

  4. Karla,

    We continue to praise God for you and Mike. We appreciate greatly the detail you are able to convey through the blog entries. It helps us to pray. Please let Mike know we are thinking about and praying for him. We will keep watch.

    Brent, Laurie, and Hunter

    Like

  5. Karla, Mike and family, Just keep trusting God and know that He is always there for you and never too busy to listen. Your road has taken several turns and God has been there with you all the way. We continue to pray and so grateful for you taking the time to keep everyone posted each day on Mike’s progress. We will pray that you can sleep longer and that Mike will get better rest too. God Bless all of you and continue to lean on Him and his every loving arms.

    Like

  6. Karla, when you hear “stuff” like that about Mike’s surgery, don’t you just want to break into a loud “Great is Our God” so that everyone will really hear. Your kids will be so excited when Daddy makes it to Des Moines for his two months of in patient rehab. If we time it right, maybe I’ll see him when I’m in rehab after the surgery in May …through I hope and pray that he is home and only doing out patient rehab then. Remember how Jill Koch came so close to dieing and the Mayo docs pulled off the impossible and kept her alive 2 1/2 years ago? My last hear ear surgery of the 22 I had as a child was at Mayo in 1957 or 58, and I am not deaf and I haven’t had to have anything except tubes in my 50s. God is good.

    Like

  7. Dear Karla,

    Well, if Mike had been in San Diego for that heart surgery, then we would have gotten to spend time with you! As it is, I do continue to stand amazed at God’s providential care of Mike in the midst of such dire circumstances. I continue to pray for Mike daily and I must remember to pray for the kids, too. It does sound as if God’s care of them has been most merciful, as well. Of course, I must continue to pray for you, Karla. May God grant you the endurance and grace for this long journey.

    Like

  8. I was listening to a radio program this afternoon, and the gal that was speaking (I think it was on 940 AM) said, “If God showed us where He was going to take us, we wouldn’t even get in the boat.”

    Isn’t that the truth…..

    When Jim was diagnosed, I remember praying, “I don’t want to walk this path with You, but I do want to walk with You, so let’s go.”

    I’m glad you didn’t know how serious the situation was, and I see that as God’s grace enveloping you. It’s okay to “break down” out over it now, Karla. I’m absolutely certain that all of Jesus’ disciples experienced that after He was crucified, and probably even more so after He was resurrected.

    I’m also glad that Jesus is with you in that boat.

    Like

  9. Hi Karla,

    We also thank you for keeping us up each day on Mike’s progress and yours too. I still believe he is going to be ok. Please tell him we are thinking and praying about both of you every day.

    I was just reading this today in Hebrews 12:2 – Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfector of our faith. And one of my very favorites when I feel unsettled and stressed, Psalm 46:10 – Be still and know that I AM GOD — We know we can come to Him in full confidence and I believe!!!

    We love you,
    Bill and Barbara

    Like

  10. Dearest Mike and Karla, I just wanted to let you know how often I am blessed just reading through the prayers and comments of all the various posts. Wow, and PRAISE THE LORD is all I can say! Where would we be without the Body of Christ. How beautiful it is!!! I think the road you are traveling right now is multi-faceted to say the least. God is moving and ministering in more ways than we could ever begin to imagine! Praying for you both and all your precious family! Love you both so much!! ~Wendy

    Like

  11. Dear Karla, Mike, children, and family,
    I have given a “passing” thought about how difficult it would be to be in your situation but without your faith. How difficult it would be!!! We are so blessed to have the Lord walking hand in hand during such trying times. My favorite Bible verse is Philippians 4:13. “I can do all things through Him who gives me His strength.” With His hand in yours, it is obvious you are feeling His presence and receiving that support. You are a great witness. Thank you.
    Our love and prayers are with you all.
    In His love,
    Judy and Erv

    Like

Leave a Reply

