I’m Doing Better, and So is Mike

I guess God was going to get me some rest one way or another, and the way was for me to be sick!  I’m not sure if it was just stress or a virus, but it was not pleasant.  Thankfully, I was able to get a full night’s sleep Thursday night and am feeling much better today!

When we got here this morning, Mike was waiting for his session with the psychologist.  Those of you who know him know how thrilled he was about this!  They didn’t want to meet with all of his, so I am anxious to hear if Mike cooperated or not.  He knew that was part of the deal.  He did lift his right arm up to shake the psychologist’s hand, which was new from yesterday.

Dr. Meyer and Dr. Fogleson were in earlier this morning.  They are very pleased with his progress in both movement and speech.  They did mention that his hair loss may be due to candida, which is fungus.  Mike is concerned that they will want to open up the incision site and clean it out.  I doubt if they would do that for this, but I will need to talk to the doctor myself.  He really wants to avoid another surgery, as do we all!

A friend from church stopped up for a short visit yesterday and brought Mike pizza.  I don’t know why he always turns it down when I want to get it for him, because he certainly eats a lot when we get it!  I doubt that he will turn down food tonight.  It’s Friday in a Catholic hospital and all the options involve only fish or vegetables!  I’ll have to come up with something better.

Yesterday was a soul-searching day for me.  I was not happy to lose one of my four days with Mike before I head back home.  I came to encourage him, not lay around moaning and sleeping!  It was another one of those times when I don’t understand why we have to go through all of this.  I also had way too much time to think!  At the end of the day (afternoon, actually) I came back to where I always do.  I don’t understand God’s purposes, but I do trust Him.  When I came to Christ, it was not until after I realized that I am not as smart as I thought and I do not have all the answers.  I am always aware of this, but the past five weeks have certainly been a reminder that I don’t know everything, and neither does anyone else.  God is showing Himself powerful and in control and faithful.  That’s what this is all about.

7 thoughts on “I’m Doing Better, and So is Mike”

  1. Karla,
    I am so sorry that you got ill, but glad you are feeling better and that it did not last for days. Have been praying for you all. I am sorry I cannot help in any other way right now. We definitely learn alot about ourselves as we face trials, but God always teaches us something through them. Take care of yourself girl. I love you. Oh, on a funny note, tell Mike I saw a sign on my way back from visiting Devin at college, and it said REAL MEN WEAR GOWNS. (Know how much he loves gowns.

    God bless you. Kathy

    Like

  2. Glad you are feeling better Karla – and glad you were able to get some rest as well…even though it was the hard way! :o)

    We are praying for you guys daily and know that the Lord’s purposes will be accomplished in all of this. God brought the Doxology song that Pastor Mike loves so much to mind this morning and the following verse:

    “Oh, the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and the knowledge of God! How unsearchable are His judgments and unfathomable His ways! For who has known the mind of the Lord, or who became His counselor? Or who has first given to Him that it might be paid back to him again? For from Him and through Him and to Him are all things. To Him be the glory forever. Amen.”

    I look forward to the day when Pastor Mike and your whole family are in the front row again – singing praise to the Lord you love so much. We love you guys!

    The Bates Family

    Like

  3. Sorry to hear you’re under-the-weather Karla. We pray daily for you and your family. Hearing about Mike’s progress is quite encouraging. May God reveal little blessings to you each day. Remember the tortise and the hare..slow and steady won the race. One moment at a time.

    Like

  4. Hi Mike and Karla, Denae Harder just informed me of your blog so I have visited it today. So sorry to hear what you have been through since October. I also had a seizure on 12/23/07, was diagnosed with a malignant brain tumor, went through chemo and radiation at Mayo and am now in remission, over one year since tx ended. You don’t live life the same after something like this. Romans 8:28 spoke to me early on and now I am opening a holistic (mind/body/spirit) treatment program for cancer patients. I wonder what important work God is preparing you for? The Lord is with you, Robyn

    Like

  5. Hi Karla,

    Sorry to hear you haven’t been feeling well; you must rest and take care of yourself too. It’s always difficult for a spouse to see the other one going through a hard time, but you both have God on your side. Thankfully you are both aware of that and it makes you stronger, as He will never forsake you!

    We will continue to pray for strength and continued healing for both of you and your family.

    Love in Christ,
    Bill and Barbara

    Like

  6. For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory, while we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal. 2 Cor 4:17,18

    Like

  7. Karla,

    I so appreciate your transparency. To hear you boast in the Lord encourages me, and points me to Him. I see His faithfulness toward you and Mike…and that testimony is something I need to see and hear. You know, we don’t even go to your church, yet we are of the same body, and I’m so thankful for this venue.

    I cannot tell you how many times in the last six months I cried out to God, “My God, My God why have you forsaken me?” It is a strange comfort to know that Psalm is right before one of the most well known Psalms in the world…and also a strange comfort to know Christ spoke the first line of that Psalm when He could have chosen any other. Maybe He was thinking them all, and only had the strength to speak those words, I don’t know, but though I’ve never been on an actual cross, I have experienced a bit of His suffering…though nothing like some.

    Too much time to think….yeah! At least when you are home you can busy yourself with laundry and such. Habit is a comfort, somewhat of a security that most of us don’t realize we have until we don’t have it any more. But sometimes it is a crutch, and it is scarey when God takes that away.

    I’ve been listening to Damaris Carbaugh today, and a song I’ve been singing I thought might encourage you:

    In my moments of fear, through every pain, every tear;
    There’s a God who’s been faithful to me.
    When my strength was all gone, when my heart had no song,
    Still in love He’s proved faithful to me.
    Every word He’s promised is true;
    What I thought was impossible, I’ve seen my God do.

    He’s been faithful, faithful to me;
    Looking back, His love and mercy I see.
    Though in my heart I have questioned, even failed to believe,
    Yet He’s been faithful, faithful to me.

    When my heart looked away, the many times I could not pray,
    Still my God, He was faithful to me.
    The days I spent so selfishly, reaching out for what pleased me,
    Even then, God was faithful to me.
    Every time I come back to Him, He is waiting with open arms,
    And I see once again.

    He’s been faithful, faithful to me;
    Looking back, His love and mercy I see.
    Though in my heart I have questioned, even failed to believe,
    Yet He’s been faithful, faithful to me.

    A link, in case you want to listen:

    Lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age. Matt 28:20

    Deb

    Like

Leave a Reply

