How We Have Endured This Trial

Many thoughts have been ruminating in my mind regarding how we have endured this trial.  I read a sermon this morning that fueled those thoughts anew.

I do not follow many blogs or check out many websites on a regular basis.  But one that I do is the Desiring God website.  John Piper was our pastor from September, 1988 until June, 1992.  Mike was an apprentice at the church during that time and one of the benefits was that I got to go to the apprentice wives’ gatherings led by Noel Piper and another pastor’s wife.  Mike also discipled Benjamin Piper, so we got to know the family quite well.  From the time that Mike became a pastor himself, I have always looked back to Pastor John when I need extra pastoral encouragement.

That is why I check out the Desiring God website.  Today there was a sermon from 1980 entitled Christ and Cancer, which I assumed would have something to say about what we are going through.  It did.  It reaffirmed much of what I know to be true and encouraged me to stay the course.

Let me just go through some of my thoughts on how we have endured this trial.  One of the main things is that God has been faithful in the past so I know He will be faithful now.  I look back at all of the trials Mike and I have had in our 22 years of marriage, and all the experiences in my own 43 years, and I see that God was preparing us for this mother of all trials.  Here are some of the things God has done.

My brother has had seizures since he was a baby.  This affected me greatly as a teenager, but eventually led me to see that I do not know very much and pushed me to Christ.  It also allowed me to watch my family.  My parents stayed married through it all, when many they knew did not.  This is a great example of how God was faithful to me before I even knew Him.

We have many memories of God’s financial provision during our graduate school years.  Car repairs were paid for, dental bills taken care of, always enough money to pay for our needs. 

We have had many smaller health issues, and one seemingly larger one,  over the years, usually involving me.  Following the birth of Gabbie, I had shortness of breath and low heart rate for some reason that was never discovered.  I don’t like the unknown, and I now see that this helped to somewhat prepare me to face Mike’s unknown issues with the AVM.

We lost an unborn child that was due exactly four years ago.  At the time I had been through no harder trial.  God sustained us, and then blessed us with Jared.

On February 26th, Mike had the open heart surgery.  The next week I said that I had made it through the worst day of my life and I am glad that is over!  I know there are more difficult days ahead, hopefully a long way ahead, but I made it through that one, with many evidences of God being merciful to me on that day.

God has ministered to us through His word, in prayer, in music, and by the encouragement of others.  The hope of heaven is more glorious than ever, since Mike was so near to it.  I have spent much more time thinking about eternity, which is a good thing.  I have had to only hope in God as all earthly supports couldn’t take away the problem and the pain.

This quote from Pastor John’s sermon really struck a chord with me.  I am thankful for the purification and strengthening of my faith by this trial!

“Satan may be sly but on some things he is stupid, because he fails to see that all his attempts to despoil the godly are simply turned by God’s providence into occasions for the purifying and strengthening of faith. God’s goal for his people in this age is not primarily to rid them of sickness and pain, but to purge us of all the remnants of sin and cause us in our weakness to cleave to him as our only hope.”

5 thoughts on “How We Have Endured This Trial”

  1. Thanks for sharing, Karla. God’s working in your life is so evident. That quote is amazing and good food for thought. Know that God is using this trial in your lives to accomplish His purposes and cause growth in the lives of those who are watching as well. Keep on enduring with eyes fixed on that “hope of heaven [that] is more glorious than ever”!

    Love in Christ, Liz

    Like

  2. Karla……I really needed to hear this today. We truly serve a faithful God. Once again…thank you for your transparency, and for boasting in Him.

    Deb

    Like

  3. Mike,

    You’re blogging! You’re moving! You’re recovering! That makes me smile!

    You and Karla and your family are amazing in your faith and the hope and love and courage that comes from it. “Thank you” to you and Karla and your family for allowing the rest of us to lend our prayers and to move along our own faith journeys as a result of your sharing and pastoring to us throughout your journey.

    All is well in my little corner of the world, here in Des Moines. I plan to celebrate you and your recovery at your church in Earlham when the right time presents itself. That will be a beautiful day.

    God’s peace,

    Stacey Koeppen

    Like

  4. Karla & Mike:

    Loved the post with such meat and insight coved with a freshness that only comes from the faithfulness of God. I will look up the article.

    Tony Snow wrote an article for Chritianity Today in Aug 2007 that has been so helpful for us on our journey. This paragraph has especially been true:

    God relishes surprise. We want lives of simple, predictable ease—smooth, even trails as far as the eye can see—but God likes to go off-road. He provokes us with twists and turns. He places us in predicaments that seem to defy our endurance and comprehension—and yet don’t. By his love and grace, we persevere. The challenges that make our hearts leap and stomachs churn invariably strengthen our faith and grant measures of wisdom and joy we would not experience otherwise.

    http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2007/july/25.30.html

    I am so glad you have a date to leave the “resort of the north” (Chloe’s & my name for St. Mary’s) to head south in time for the daffodils – the promise of spring, new life and the glorious resurrection of our God.

    Blessings as you finish up your stay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

