One More Day!

It’s hard to believe, but Mike only has one more full day of therapy.  He has opted to have some therapy on the day he leaves, so we won’t be heading home until about lunchtime.  He is not one to turn down a good thing!  He will also have several days off before starting up again, so he wants to be sure to get as much in as possible.

Today the therapists spent a lot of time going over therapies he can do at home.  We also discussed some areas that he will need to be especially aware of, like curbs and rough terrain.  That last part will be especially important when we head to baseball games in May!

The Mennonites just left after singing for us for the last time.  What a great group they are and what a great ministry.  There were 8 people here tonight, but 18 on Sunday night.  They sang “Victory in Jesus.”  Hearing of Jesus healing the lame has taken on new meaning.  It is far more personal now.  Mike then requested that they sing “How Great Thou Art,” which is one of his favorite songs.  I am hoping that next year at this time Mike will be able to play it on the piano again!

9 thoughts on “One More Day!”

  1. Dear Karla and Mike,

    It IS hard to believe that you’re finally all going to be together as a family AT HOME! We are looking forward to seeing God continue to work miracles in Mike’s recovery.

    We’re so thankful that God has brought you through all the valleys you’ve experienced over the last 40+ days. What a ministry you both will have after all of this – and already much more of an impact than any of us could possibly know.

    Drive safely and we will see you Sunday.

    Love, Lynne and Dale

    Like

  2. Mike,

    I listened to a John Piper sermon last night. I really enjoyed his sermon about the images of Jesus he found in John 1. Since you mentioned hymns in the entry above, I was reminded of an old favorite. As I watched the updates over the past month+, I thought often about this hymn–you lived every verse.

    Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart;
    Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art.
    Thou my best Thought, by day or by night,
    Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

    Be Thou my Wisdom, and Thou my true Word;
    I ever with Thee and Thou with me, Lord;
    Thou my great Father, I Thy true son;
    Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one.

    Be Thou my battle Shield, Sword for the fight;
    Be Thou my Dignity, Thou my Delight;
    Thou my soul’s Shelter, Thou my high Tower:
    Raise Thou me heavenward, O Power of my power.

    Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise,
    Thou mine Inheritance, now and always:
    Thou and Thou only, first in my heart,
    High King of Heaven, my Treasure Thou art.

    High King of Heaven, my victory won,
    May I reach Heaven’s joys, O bright Heaven’s Sun! Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,
    Still be my Vision, O Ruler of all.

    Praise God for His matcheless grace!

    Brent, Laurie, and Hunter

    Like

  3. *tears of joy* Our God is amazingly graciousness, abounding in kindness, and abundant in mercy! Obviously the Lord still has much work for you to do here Mike, good works which he prepared for you long ago to walk in. (do I see a book on the horizon? 🙂

    Like

  4. Dear Mike and Karla,
    In the fall of 1972 I spent the four worst months of my young life on an island just off of Vancouver Island — we got to leave in early December — we were heading home — back to Illinois. The last day of school, the last ferry ride, and last communal meal with the mission candidates — I still remember the tremendous joy and relief of leaving a hard place — of counting down all of the the significant ‘lasts.’

    Enjoy all your ‘lasts’ and enjoy being home and I will continue to pray for your daily progress in movement and speech.

    “you whom long pain and sorrow bear,
    praise God and on him cast your care,
    O praise Him…

    I know you are praising the Lord Jesus!

    Randy

    Like

  5. Hi Mike and Karla,

    We are so very happy you can go home. “How Great Thou Art” is truly a wonderful hymm and I don’t think anyone can understand as well as those who have walked through the fire! And you and Karla surely have done that with much grace.

    Congratulations and love, for your faith and your witness.

    We love you,
    Bill and Barbara

    Like

  6. We’re so happy for your homecoming! Gabby has been precious today talking about Mike coming home. She is quite certain that Benj will be receiving the “best birthday present ever”. So true. Glad your family will be whole in one place again.

    Like

  7. Mike & Karla,

    I want to thank you both for sharing your lives with all of us these last several weeks. What an incredible time you have had, and we know that it has not been easy, in fact at times we are sure that it was hard to keep going but you did and you have been a great encouragement to the rest of us. May God give you a good trip home and a special time of reunion with your children, and the Earlham church family. Looking forward to again spending time visiting face to face. Until then, God bless and keep you. You are in our prayers and our thoughts. With all our love in Jesus. Bob & Paula Spilger

    Like

  8. Mike and Karla,
    Mike, I’m glad to hear that you are going to be home soon and with your family again. I continue to pray that all will continue to go well for you. Lois, shared your site with me so I have been able to keep up with your progress. Keep up the good work!! Two songs come to mind !How Great Thou Art and It Is Well With My Soul.
    With Love in Jesus
    Martha

    Like

Leave a Reply

