Premature Reflections From The Other Side Of A Great Trial

First of all I want to thank you all for all of the prayers that were brought before the throne of grace on both my and our behalf.  I believe with all of my heart and soul that this is the only reason I am alive today.  And not a one of you can  convince me otherwise!  There were literally tens of thousands of people praying for both me and my family.  And that my dear friends is a very humbling place to be. 

Since this whole drama began back in October of 2008, and since we (Sheila Streicher) were able to get this blog up and running about the second week of November, we have had just under 101,000 page views, with the busiest day being Feb. 27th…which must have been heart and lung clot day, when there were 5,449 page views.  All this to say that  this drama has not been played out only locally.  This has been a wide spread God glorifying miracle.  But even if it had turned out very differently God would still be glorified.

For may I remind you all of my original posting where I confidently quoted Romans 8:28, which speaks of God causing all things to work together for good to those who love God and are called according to His purposes.  This does not mean that  all things are good.  Not at all.  Bad is bad and evil is evil.  But it has been my firm conviction throughout this ordeal that this verse was true, as is all of  God’s Word.

So when I read in the comments recorded here (of which I have read every one) of a church on the north side of Atlanta, Ga. when a good report was given and the church broke out into applause…for a perfect stranger…or maybe we’re not so much strangers as we are divided by denominations and such…Oh well I’m sitting here weeping as I pluck away on the keyboard with one hand (for though the right side continues to improve it’s not strong enough to type).  And there are literally hundreds and thousands of you for whom this same tale could be told regarding smaller Bible study groups, etc.  Thank You!  This is about as close I can come to actually saying  the words “Words cannot express how grateful I am for all of you.”  Just give me some time though, and I’ll try to make things right with you all.

  • If you are a pastor or leader in your church and you want to hear expository preaching promoted and demonstrated, and a biographical sketch of an important man from the past, join us Tuesday at 9:30 am here in Earlham at Crossroad Church. I plan to be there for at least some of it.  We do these events three times per year at our church (not because of anything special about us but rather because we are geographically well suited). Hope to see some of you there!
11 thoughts on “Premature Reflections From The Other Side Of A Great Trial”

  1. Mike,

    It warmed all of our hearts yesterday to have you join us in worship of this great God who brought you and your family through and out of that wildnerness. We’re still in awe of what God has done and greatly anticipate all that He has in store for you.

    May He continue to strengthen you and restore you fully.

    Nice long blog post!

    Still rejoicing!

    Lynne and Dale

    Like

  2. Welcome home, Mike! It’s so good to see you writing to and exhorting us once again. I was wondering if you would go to church yesterday – what a homecoming. Can’t wait to see you again. We’ll keep praying for you and your family. We love you!

    Like

  3. Pastor Mike:
    Praise God! Many prayers continue for you and your family. I can only imagine the joy you and your family felt when you arrived home. I look forward to hearing your sermons via internet and hopefully a trip back to Earlham to see everyone!

    Brian, Mary, Rhiannon and Katrina Van Diest
    Oklahoma

    Like

  4. Hi Mike,

    So happy you and your family are together again! I have believed and thanked God for your healing now for a long time! He has much for you to do and I still thank Him for your complete healing.

    God Bless and our love and prayers continue,
    Bill and Barbara
    P.S. It is also refreshing to me to hear a pastor say the whole bible IS true! I’ve always believed that too!

    Like

  5. Dear Mike, Karla & family,

    I had not looked at your site for a few days. I am so very happy to read that you all are home … together! I thank God with you for this grace. I can not begin to understand all that you have thought & felt. I am sure you will be processing this for months & years to come. I send this note with my prayer that God Himself will “strengthen your souls” (Ps 138:3 & Acts 14:22). Indeed it is through many tribulations that we must enter the Kingdom. But when the King is with you through it all & when the King is Himself your treasure … He can heal the wounds of the harshest tribulations. O might He continue to show you that He is your loving King whom you sense is standing with you & strenthening you so that you might fulfill your calling to be His joyful witnesses (2 Tim 4:17-18) who will enjoy Him forever. To Him be the glory forever ever, Amen.

    your friend in Christ,

    Jeff Whitt (& Karen)

    PS many in our church have prayed for you & I will give them this wonderful update

    Like

  6. I am so glad that you are all together again as a family and pray that your rehab continues at a rapid pace. You both have been such a huge inspiration to so many people.

    Like

  7. Greetings my dear friend and Pastor, it was so good to see you and your family on Sunday. It brought great joy to my heart and much praise to God for allowing you to return to us. The days ahead will be long and tiring but I know you will persevere and before you know it you will be running the service and preaching with a new passion and zeal as God has been busy in your life.

    I also want to take this opportunity to thank everyone for your prayers and support for Pastor Mike and his family. Sunday was a glorious day at Crossroad church as many tears of joy were shed as we worshiped together with Pastor Mike and his family for the first time in forty plus days. What an awesome God we serve.

    Just a house keeping note for anyone that plans to attend Word Fellowship and has not RSVP, please let me know. As the chief bottle washer for this event I’m funny about having enough food for everyone to eat and generally don’t cast lots to figure out how many are coming :). Word Fellowship is one of my favorite events during the year. If you can come your soul will be ministered to and you will leave refreshed in the Lord.

    Your faithful servant
    Dean

    Like

  8. Mike — it was terrific to see you live and in person and to speak with you on Sunday!! We are so grateful to God for all He’s done and will continue to do.

    Like

  9. Dear Mike,
    You are home again with your family. Praise God. He is so good. I am glad that you are improving each and every day, and pray that God restores your strength. You have written in your blog about how much you are grateful for all who have been praying for you, but let me just say, you have been a blessing to us all and a huge encouragement through your trust and faith in God. Thank you. God bless you and your family. (Give Karla a huge hug for me, and tell her I love and miss her). Kathy

    Like

  10. Mike,
    First I have to say I am very proud of who you have become. You are a role model for fathers across America to aspire to.
    I read your words on your post today, ” Just give me some time though, and I’ll try to make things right with you all”.
    You’re damn right you will. And the ONLY pay back I will accept is your returning to 100% and leading your family and that congregation as if this had never happened.
    I look forward to seeing you again one day in the future and having you tell me how well your whole family has recovered and has put this all behind you.
    Thank you for your inspiration. Welcome home and God Bless.

    Brad

    Like

  11. Reading your blog is part of my every day devotions and I find by the time I finish, I have tears streaming down my cheeks in admiration and gratitude for you family’s devotion and cooperation and for your continued faith that you so graciously are sharing with us. Our prayers were answered when you are well enough to be home and recovering! Darlene Isaacson

    Like

Leave a Reply

