What Happened To All Of Your Prayers?

Surely there must be some of you more reflective people out there who are wondering….just what did God do with all of my prayers for Mike and Karla?  That is, for the initial brain surgery.  You know…the prayers that thousands of you must have offered up before the throne of God that I would come through this with no complications and such?  Did He not hear you? 

Our prayer through all of this has been “Lord, however you can be most glorified…do it.”  Karla even confided with me through tears last night that as I went in for open heart surgery [to have the blood clots removed from my heart and lungs] she prayed “Lord, please save him…but if you don’t it’s all in your hands anyway.”   It takes an amazing amount of faith to utter such words.  

The further I am away from this ordeal the greater the appreciaton and admiration I have for Karla…who was present even during the 20 minute seizure [just prior to the cardiac surgery], which I cannot remember.  The staff  at Mayo (St. Marys) is amazing.  30 minutes after the doctors decided that surgery was the only option, they had my chest opened up…pulling a blood clot nearly as wide as my heart from my heart, and 22 clots from my lungs. 

I didn’t know until a few days ago that once they found out what was going on they were very concerned with whether or not my brain had been receiving oxygen or not.  Thus, when I heard that Dr. Fogelson was ecstatic when I moved my left side (remember…I was out on my right side after the initial brain surgery) I began thinking of all the possibilities and what if’s… Karla had to live with the very real possibility of me dying or living, but with serious deficits.  As it is she gets to have me with only the deficits I had before going to Mayo.

We met with our internist yesterday (Dr. Nordstrom) and he said that in 25 years of practicing medicine he has only heard of one other case of a person who lived through what I did.  I didn’t realize how close I was to the edge of death.  I still have to pinch myself sometimes to make sure I’m really alive. 

This is how God was most glorifed in this fiery trial…including the blood infection and the blood clots that very nearly did me in.  God is sovereign  over the trials in our lives.  He guarantees that He will work all things for good for those who love him and are called according to his purposes (Rom. 8:28). 

If we could see into the future we never would have chosen this path.  But we cannot see into the future.  The future things are the secret things that belong to the Lord.  Some of you, no doubt, are just days away from finding out some bit of news that is even worse than we heard on October 23, 2008.   But until you get that news, and even after you get that piece of news I want to encourage you to obey Philippians 4:6-7  “The Lord is at hand, do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God , which surpasses all understanding, will guard you hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” 

Still…just happy to be here,

Mike

4 thoughts on “What Happened To All Of Your Prayers?”

  1. Mike, God has truly been glorified through out your trial. It has been a growing situation for me I know. Daily, I would check the blog as soon as I got home from work and prayed, improving my prayer life and time with the Lord. The day you went in for heart surgery I had little faith that you would survive, but prayed to God that He would bring you through it safely. Matthew 17:20 Did I forget who I was praying too? To God be the glory! Denny

    Like

  2. Oh yes, you do have a wife full of faith and her example is not lost on us. I can only hope and pray that I might have even a mustard seed of faith. I remember when my husband was in an accident and suffered a brain injury, on my way to the hospital before I knew if he was dead or alive, I prayed that he would be alive because I wasn’t ready to lose him. Karla, you prayed Christ’s prayer: Thy will be done.
    Thank-you for your faith.

    Like

  3. Hi Mike & Karla,

    Be it the mother in me, with a lot of faith, I just could not, would not believe He was ready for you yet. Of course Karla was there & could see what I could not, but her strong faith came through — I could not help but pray my thanks for your complete healing after the brain surgery & then especially after the heart surgery. And praise God for her. You’ve each walked through the fire in a different way – and came through for God’s glory.

    He will continue to bless you both & you are a blessing to those lives you will touch as you walk through your life.

    We feel so fortunate to call you our friends. Hopefully, we be able to see you soon.

    God Bless,
    Bill and Barb

    Like

  4. Mike and Karla,

    What an amazing day! I just love Easter. Thank you for your blog…it is a high point in many of my days to read it. I am so thankful that you are feeling well enough to preach again, at least for today. To God be the glory, and the praise forever and ever! Happy Easter!

    Lora

    Like

Leave a Reply

