So What’s New in Earlham?

Not much!  I feel bad about not posting much these days, but as I have said before, I really don’t have much to say.

Some parts of our routine are finally set.  Mike is spending a few hours a week in the office and we have people taking him to rehab most of the time.  We are trying to coordinate doctor appoinments with the rehab schedule, but that is not always possible.  His coumadin levels are finally high enough, so he is having an occasional salad to see what that does to them.  I have been looking at potassium levels in food, and things like kale and turnip greens have the highest levels.  I wouldn’t know what those look like if they were right in front of me, and I’m sure Mike wouldn’t eat them, so hopefully a couple of salads a week will be okay.

The other thing I am doing is trying to catch up on everything.  With seven people in the family, there is a lot of activity!  We also seem to always need to schedule a lot of appointments.  We have a full schedule for Mike at Mayo the first week in June.  We will be seeing Hematology, Vascular Medicine, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, and Neurosurgery, as well as having several tests.  That should wear us out for three days!  Hopefully we’ll have good news from Hematology and Vascular Medicine and never need to see them again!

Jared has had some interesting comments since we got home.  His latest is this.  When you ask him to do something, like take his empty glass to the sink, he’ll say, “I can’t.  My hand is stuck.  Just like Dad used to be!”  Another quotable moment came when we told him that Mike had to go to the doctor.  He asked, “Will he take Dad’s scratch off his tummy?”  This would be the scar on his chest.  He really wants that gone!

Many people have asked how the kids are now that we are home.  They are great!  I fully expected Gabbie and Jared to cry and be clingy if we left them at home for any reason.  They have not been.  As long as we explain to them where we are going and when we will be back, they are fine.  It doesn’t hurt that it’s spring and they want to be outside all the time!  I see this as another mercy from God.  I don’t think they are going to be permanently damaged by this ordeal!

2 thoughts on “So What’s New in Earlham?”

  1. Dear Mike and Karla,
    Reading the above reminded me afresh that although things have gone so well your lives remain a long, long way from what might be called normal (at least from what was the old normal). Still, what an encouragement to read of progress and light moments around the house.

    And Jared is recognizing the amazing manliness of his father in noting that on a truly manly man like Mike the massive incision on Mike’s chest can be spoken of as but a scratch.

    And I know this man and call him my friend. And Karla, you are married to him. O what a blessing the Lord has given to us in you Mike. We are thankful you are here, though this is selfish in some ways, for after all Paul assures us that to depart and to be with Christ is far better for the one departing. But I am so thankful on behalf of Karla, your children and your friends that you are still here — a manly man; though scratched.

    May the grace continue to be with you,

    Randy

    Like

  2. I wish there was some unsaid thing that sounded profound that I could say. There have been so many e-mails and I have read most of them. Feel a little like evesdropping but you are so loved. It is precious how everyone has gathered around and held up your whole family through this ordeal. Praise God. I KNOW you do, such a testimony. Just want to say we love you.
    Ruth and Larry

    Like

Leave a Reply

