So close and yet so far away

Yesterday, as I waited for my speech therapist to get off the phone this patient was unusually patient, for she was cutting into my hour.

You see, I was watching a mini drama unfold before my very eyes.  Looking out the window toward Woodland Avenue I was second on the scene, even if only in a vicarious way, to a dramatic incident.  Safely, from a third floor window of Methodist Hospital, I watched the scene of a man who had fallen to the sidewalk while awaiting a bus. 

As the man lay in a prone position no more than three hundred feet from Methodist Hospital, I laughed to myself, not because a man had fallen to the ground but rather because of the sheer irony of it all.  Soon after I began watching this event unfold a firetruck arrived on the scene with sirens blaring.  Next on the scene were two police cars with their lights in full array. 

Finally, and this is the kicker, an ambulance showed up on the scene….that’s right, only 300 feet from the hospital.  I don”t know if the man was seriously hurt or not, all I know is that struck me as the pinnacle of irony that this man should be 300 feet from Methodist Hospital…but then again, maybe he was a Presbyterian.  Either way, you can be sure that the ambulance company took in their $500 without so much as a hint of guilt.

So close and yet so far away.  I wonder how many of us are like this with regard to the most important issues of  life.  It’s there, right before our very eyes, and yet we choose to ignore all the warning signs, the multitude of  “heads up” signs we receive on a near daily basis.  So close and yet so far away.

2 thoughts on “So close and yet so far away”

  1. This cracked me up when I read this – I know firsthand, from working at Methodist ER for several years, that someone could fall down in the parking lot 10 feet from the door, and they would call the ambulance – pretty crazy, eh? Anyways, Kevin and I have been meaning to comment on your blog for quite some time now. We have been thinking about you and all of your family for the past months, and are really glad you are back home safe and sound!

    Like

  2. Pastor Mike – God is great. God is good. May your story continue to give glory to the one true God. I will lift up your lovely wife and children to God that He will strengthen them when life seems to be winning. “To the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages, now and forevermore! Amen.” Jude 25 Continue to go with God, for you are in the Good Hands!
    Brenda Sackett Winkle

    Like

Leave a Reply

