It’s good to be on the mend: two firsts

If you want to see two “firsts” since I had my surgeries then keep on reading.

1. I started my first gasoline engine using my right arm and hand today (post surgeries).  Normally Benj (15) mows the lawn, but on  this beautiful Saturday morning  I did it.  One pull and the Toro lawnmower was roaring.

2. Later, on this same beautiful day, I hopped onto a bike for the first time since I had my surgeries.  I had to dust off my old bike helmet that I haven’t worn in years, for I have to be somewhat cautious now while I’m still on blood thinners.    Jared nearly jumped right off of his battery powered 4-wheeler that tops out at 1 or 2 mph. and said, “I want to go on a bike ride too.” 

So we began our ride on sidewalks only, Jared on his little bike with training wheels.  Gabbie and Elisabeth joined in as well.   Uh, I think I overestimated my ability to ride a bike.  Muscle coordination is still an issue with me…but then how am I supposed to learn to ride a bike again unless I just do it? 

Anyway I made it to the corner (in front of our house) 1oo feet I suppose, and then I suddenly, and indelicately, fell over.  Simple as that.  Just fell over into the grass.  I quickly looked around me to see if anyone had seen me fall.  Jared stopped, looked at me, and then rode on. 

Well, I got back on that bike and rode four whole blocks.  Upon arriving at home Karla noticed the grass all over my back.  I wasn’t necessarily planning on telling Karla what had happened, but since she found out anyway, I had her ask Jared what had happened to his daddy.  His response was “Oh, dad was pretending.  I told him just keep trying.”  Dad was not pretending.

2 thoughts on “It’s good to be on the mend: two firsts”

  1. It was really great to see you while I was there in Iowa. As I said then and I reiterate now….
    I am very proud of what you have accomplished.
    I am also very optimistic about your future adventures. Thanks for keeping us all updated on your progress.

    Like

  2. I have to say that I am struck by the perspective of a three year old compared to that of his father!

    Oh that we could all be as confident in our Heavenly Father as Jared is in you, Mike.

    Like

Leave a Reply

