Dracula’s Surprise?

I don’t know what was  in it but I can assure you of this: I did not order it for lunch today…even though it was on the menu.

The beautiful retreat center we are now at in Romania called Casa Elim is located just a few miles from Dracula’s castle.  I don’t yet know anything about count Dracula, but I’m pretty sure it has something to do with a learning disability that he was born with that precludes him from being able to count.

I will find out this weekend as we plan to visit this famed castle.  Sadly there are some Romanian people who are so superstitious that they dig up their dead loved ones to see whether or not they have turned over in their coffins.  If they have not then they are comforted by their belief that said loved one has not in fact become a vampire, but remains instead a rotting corpse.  Strange that people could find any comfort in that.  I believe what the Bible says…namely that for those whose treasure is Christ, that for them to be absent from the body is to be present with the Lord (2 Corinthians 5:6-8).

The retreat for American missionaries serving in Romania begins this evening.    God is with us.  You can count on it.

From Romania with love

Mike

One thought on “Dracula’s Surprise?”

  1. Oh boy…. I guess you will soon learn the lesson of Vlad, the Impaler. Not a pretty story I hate to say. He was not a nice man.
    But, regardless, I hope you have a great time over there. I’m sure it’s a beautiful trip with many memories you’ll carry for years to come.

    Like

Leave a Reply

