Remembering the past as an encouragement for the present and future

I haven’t written a single blog posting since February of this year (2012).  Prior to this I had gone 40 straight months with at least one post.  I still check my blog stats once in awhile and continue to be surprised by what I find.  Word press now has a world map that shows the different countries represented in viewing the blog.  India, Pakistan, Indonesia, Russia, Tajikistan…really?

Much to my surpise there has never been a single day in the last 47 months where there were no hits on my blog.  People use search engines and amazingly find their way to my blog.  So far the blog has received 147,759 page views from 250 postings and has received 1,156 comments.  We had 5,790 page views on February 26, 2009 on the day that I had the emergency open heart surgery to remove blood clots from my heart and lungs after coding, and all of this just two weeks after having brain surgery to remove a peach sized  AVM (arteriovenous malformation) from the left frontal lobe of my brain.  Forty six days spent at Mayo Clinic before coming home.

Not a single day goes by that I don’t remember those harrowing days for me and for my entire family.  I remember the past and see that my life, by all human estimates and conventional wisdom should have ended three and a half years ago….But it did not.  And so I am here, still alive, still at my post, still being a redeemed sinner day after day.

I figured some of my many facebook friends will not even have known about this most important of events in my life…since I haven’t been on facebook all that long.  Now you will.

One of my favorite professors while I was in seminary was my  New Testament professor Dr. Tom Schreiner.

His dear wife Diane suffered a traumatic (left) brain injury in a bicycle accident on August 17, 2012.  She underwent emergency brain surgery to remove a blood clot and is struggling with speech and cognition.She is entering full time rehab today and can use all the prayers she can get.  I know the family would appreciate it as well.

I see all sufferings differently now, but remain convinced of the truth of Romans 8:28 that “for those who love God all things work together for good”..ultimately that is. This has been my theme since the first seizure that revealed the oddity within my brain…my brain.  Suddenly these things become much more personal when it’s you or someone you love that is on the other side of healthy.

Romans 8:28 does not mean that bicycle accidents and AVM’s are good things.  They are not.  But God is God and is not surprised by anything at all, as all of the details of our lives are micromanaged by an omnipotent and loving Creator who upholds the entire universe by the word of His power and yet stoops to see the faltering sparrow and knows the end from the beginning, because He is already there.  And you aren’t.

Pondering the past and encouraged for the present and future,

Mike Evans

One thought on “Remembering the past as an encouragement for the present and future”

  1. Glad to see you are still kicking. Sorry to hear of ‘Diane’ and will keep her in my prayers. I had an angiogram in May to see if anything could be done for my AVM but there isn’t and it is growing. Would you pray for me? I have lost my main supporter and caregiver. Thank you. I am blessed but it has been a long road. I believe that good comes out of these bad times. I wish you the best and hope and pray for Diane. Take care!

    Like

Leave a Reply

